Wednesday 29 January 2020

Murphy hero for Gonzaga

Gonzaga clinched a place in the Vinnie Murray Cup final by overcoming miserable conditions and a determined Newpark effort at Anglesea Road.

Wing Sean Murphy set the Ranelagh boys on their way with a fourth-minute try, finishing off a move started by the strong running of Patrick Lavelle. Stephen Murphy converted, but Newpark responded strongly.

However, any time they got near the Gonzaga 22, a combination of strong lineout defence and excellent tackling from centres Stephen Murphy and Daniel Diviney denied them.

Gonzaga scored again midway through the second half when prop Ceithrean Murray peeled away from a maul to crash over after a period of sustained pressure.

Murphy added the conversion and his side finished the job in injury-time as No 8 Donagh Seaver O'Leary fed replacement scrum-half Andrew McEvoy who scored under the posts.

Gonzaga -- J Fitzpatrick; R Lenehan (M Fitzpatrick 57), D Diviney (C Ó Brolchain 66), Stephen Murphy (A McEvoy 63), Sean Murphy; M McPhillips, H Byrne; C Murray, C McDowell, K Hargaden (J McDowell 60); C O'Leary, H Mays (O O'Cleirigh 40); P Lavelle, M McGroarty, D Seaver O'Leary.

Newpark -- S Crowe; O Dwyer , E O'Connor, F Halpin, E Black; M Halpin (F Hawley 70), E Thornley (P Collins 70); A Marshall, J Sheehan (R Heffernan h/t), S Reynolds; R Garland, N Sundermann; J Wheatley (B Clarke 55), Z Jurgmann, L Hanratty (H Connor 44).

Ref -- W Sheridan (ARLB).

Irish Independent

The Left Wing: Ireland's Six Nations target, a French revival and Ian Madigan's future

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport