Wednesday 22 May 2019

Trio nominated for Player of Year award

Joey Carbery. Photo: Sportsfile
Joey Carbery. Photo: Sportsfile

John O'Sullivan

Tadhg Beirne, Joey Carbery and Peter O'Mahony have been nominated for the 2019 Munster Rugby Awards which take place next Tuesday evening, at the University Concert Hall in Limerick.

In association with the Irish Independent, The Munster Rugby Player of the Year nominees are chosen by their team-mates, with the overall winners chosen by the public.

Both new arrivals this season, Joey Carbery and Tadhg Beirne, have played huge roles in Munster's ongoing pursuit of major silverware.

Carbery scored 26 points in Munster's 41-15 win away to Gloucester which sealed their quarter-final qualification.

Beirne had a huge performance in the engine room in Munster's narrow 17-13 Champions Cup quarter-final win away to Edinburgh.

O'Mahony, meanwhile, as has been the case throughout both his Munster and Ireland careers, has been a tower of leadership and consistency throughout his 15 starts in this campaign.

The Munster Player of the Year award is a prestigious accolade and its former winners include Keith Earls, Tyler Bleyendaal, CJ Stander, Conor Murray, Tommy O'Donnell, Donnacha Ryan, James Coughlan, Ronan O'Gara, Mick O'Driscoll, David Wallace and John Hayes.

Irish Independent

The Left Wing: Leinster's succession plan, Munster's missing piece and the art of contract negotiations

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport