Sunday 21 July 2019

Trio nominated for Player of the Year

Tommy O'Donnell is in the running for Munster Rugby Senior Player of the Year
Tommy O'Donnell is in the running for Munster Rugby Senior Player of the Year

Declan Rooney

The 2015 Munster Rugby Awards night, in association with the Irish Independent, take place next Thursday at the Maryborough Hotel in Cork, with Tommy O'Donnell, Billy Holland and CJ Stander in line for the big prize.

The three nominees for Munster Rugby Senior Player of the Year were short-listed by their team-mates, but the final result will come down to the public vote.

Previous award winners include James Coughlan, John Hayes, Mick O'Driscoll, Ronan O'Gara, Donnacha Ryan and last year's winner Conor Murray.

O'Donnell is looking to win the prize for the second time - the 27-year-old flanker was part of this year's Six Nations winning squad for Ireland.

The Tipperary native has played 17 times, scoring one try for Munster this season, with six of those appearances coming in the Champions Cup.

Holland has won 21 caps for Munster this season scoring one try, but the 29-year old lock from Cork has only made three Champions Cup appearances.

Stander has been one of the most explosive performers for Munster this season and has been touted as a potential Ireland international No 8.

The South African, who turned 25 on April 5, has also played on 21 occasions this season and has scored seven tries along the way.

Meanwhile, the John McCarthy Award for Academy Player of the Year will go to either Jack O'Donoghue, Rory Scannell or Darren Sweetnam, who are all part of the Greencore Munster Rugby Academy.

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Kerry back to their best, Connolly’s return and Cork’s baffling inconsistency

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport