Friday 15 December 2017

Six Nations winning captain Niamh Briggs handed Munster armband

Ireland captain Niamh Briggs celebrates with the Women's Six Nations Rugby Championship trophy
Ireland captain Niamh Briggs celebrates with the Women's Six Nations Rugby Championship trophy Newsdesk Newsdesk

Ireland Women's team captain Niamh Briggs has been named captain of the Munster Women's squad as they bid to retain their Interprovincial Championship title for 2015/16.

As one of the country's most experienced players Niamh captained Ireland in last season's Six Nations Championship when they claimed the trophy for the second time.

Munster Women's Head Coach Wayne Falvey today named the Waterford native as squad captain and Highfield's Heather O'Brien as assistant captain.

Briggs, who is a Garda based in Limerick, plays her club rugby with UL Bohemian RFC and made her Munster debut in 2006.  The fullback has claimed a total of six interprovincial titles and has been capped for her province on 22 occasions.

The 30-year-old has played in two World Cups, in England and France, and was instrumental in Ireland's historic win over the Black Ferns (New Zealand Women) in 2014.

Awarded the Munster, Ireland and World Player of the Year titles in 2013 Niamh went on to make her 50th appearance for Ireland in this year's 6 Nations title decider against Scotland.

Speaking on her appointment Niamh Briggs said "I was delighted when I was asked to captain my home club and it is a huge honour to represent the province.  Munster has a unique culture which has always been about spirit and I feel very humbled to be a part of it.

"I am a strong advocate for the interpros and it's great to see so many new girls come into our squad this season.  We've worked incredibly hard for the last 14 weeks and the lads behind the scenes have put an enormous amount of effort into getting us ready for the championship.

"It's also great to see an 'A' squad introduced this year giving more players a pathway for provincial rugby.  These players will go back to their clubs after the interpros, having gained lots of experience which raises the standard of club rugby throughout the province.

"There are a lot of young talented players in both squads and I have no doubt many of them will go on to play for Ireland in the future.” 

Munster Women's Squad 2015/16

Amy Desmond (Highfield)

Anneline Weinmann (Ballincollig) *

Aoife Moore (Highfield) *

Chloe Pearse (Shannon) *

Ciara Griffin (Tralee)

Clodagh O'Halloran (St. Senans) *

Danielle Morgan (Highfield) *

Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird (Highfield)

Edel Murphy (UL Bohs) *

Elaine Anthony (Highfield)

Ellen Murphy (Highfield) *

Fiona Reidy (UL Bohs)

Gerda Coyne (Highfield)

Heather O'Brien (Highfield)

Jayne Pennefather (Highfield) *

Kate McCarthy (Shannon) *

Laura O'Mahony (Tralee)

Leah Lyons (Highfield)

Linda McNamara (Ballincollig) *

Lisa Loughnane (St. Senans) *

Liz Burke (UL Bohs) *

Maura Collins (Abbeyfeale)

Mona Fehily (Highfield)

Niamh Briggs (UL Bohs) Capt.

Niamh English (Highfield)

Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohs)

Niamh O'Sullivan (UL Bohs) *

Nicola Scully (Highfield)

Roisin Ormond (Highfield)

Siobhan Fleming (Tralee)

Valerie Power (Shannon) *

Zoe Grattage (Highfield)

Zoe Lynch (Carrick On Suir) *

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport