Monday 19 March 2018

Rassie Erasmus makes 10 changes to Munster side for Treviso clash

Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus
Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus

Munster coach Rassie Erasmus has made 10 changes to his side to play Treviso in the penultimate round of the Pro12 tomorrow in Italy (6.05 Irish time).

Darren O’Shea and Conor Oliver, both part of the Munster A British and Irish Cup-winning squad, will both start while four others from that team - Kevin O’Byrne, Brian Scott, Rory Burke and Alex Wootton - are named in the replacements. 

It’s an all changed front row with James Cronin, Rhys Marshall and Stephen Archer named while lock Darren O’Shea links up with Billy Holland in the second row pairing.  Holland is the only player to retain his place in the pack and captains the side for the ninth time this season.

Dave O’Callaghan, Conor Oliver and Jack O’Donoghue make up the back row.

Three changes to the backline sees this season’s leading try scorer Ronan O’Mahony and Darren Sweetnam cover the wings and Francis Saili joins Jaco Taute in the centre partnership.

It’s as you were in the half backs with Duncan Williams and Tyler Bleyendaal.

Munster:  Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Francis Saili, Jaco Taute, Ronan O’Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal, Duncan Williams; James Cronin, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer; Darren O’Shea, Billy Holland Capt.; Dave O’Callaghan, Conor Oliver, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Brian Scott, Rory Burke, Donnacha Ryan, CJ Stander, Angus Lloyd, Ian Keatley, Alex Wootton.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport