Friday 19 January 2018

Munster duo to make debuts as Rassie Erasmus makes seven changes for Treviso clash

Munster coach Rassie Erasmus
Munster coach Rassie Erasmus Newsdesk Newsdesk

Sammy Arnold and Rhys Marshall will make their Munster debuts in the Guinness Pro12 clash with Treviso tomorrow at Thomond Park (kick-off 2pm).

Rassie Erasmus makes seven changes from the team that defeated the Maori All Blacks with a number of internationals returning to the fold.

Among the returning international contingent for the round 9 clash are Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Jack O'Donoghue, and Billy Holland.

Dave Foley and Sammy Arnold have overcome their respective elbow and knee injuries to take their places in the starting line-up with the latter to make his competitive debut.

Named amongst the replacements, prop Thomas du Toit and scrum half Angus Lloyd are included in their first matchday squads with Jean Kleyn also included after successfully rehabbing an ankle injury.

An all-new front row sees Kilcoyne and Ryan start on either side of hooker Rhys Marshall who makes his first start in the red jersey.

In the second row Foley returns to partner Darren O'Shea in the PRO12 for the first time, while in the back row, O'Donnell reverts to openside, O'Donoghue comes in at blindside with Robin Copeland continuing at number 8. O'Donnell draws ever closer to a century of appearances in the Championship and will make his 99th PRO12 appearance this weekend.

Duncan Williams and Tyler Bleyendaal resume their partnership in the half backs with another new pairing seen in midfield where debutant Arnold starts alongside Jaco Taute.

There are no further changes with Ronan O'Mahony, Darren Sweetnam and fullback Andrew Conway again forming the back three.

Munster XV: (15-9) Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Sammy Arnold, Jaco Taute, Ronan O'Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal, Duncan Williams; (1-8) Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, John Ryan; Dave Foley, Darren O'Shea; Jack O'Donoghue, Tommy O'Donnell - capt., Robin Copeland.

Replacements: (16-23) Niall Scannell, Thomas du Toit, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland, Angus Lloyd, Ian Keatley, Alex Wootton.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport