Saturday 21 July 2018

Munster debutant Robin Copeland named in starting XV after passport issue resolved

Robin Copeland
Robin Copeland
Cormac Byrne

Cormac Byrne

Robin Copeland will make his Munster debut against Treviso tomorrow night after his passport issue was resolved.

The former Cardiff Blues number eight had his passport stolen when his car was broken into on Tuesday night but was able to get a replacement last night.


Copeland's inclusion at number eight is one of eight changes to the Munster side that was beaten by Edinburgh at Thomond Park last Friday.

It was expected that Paul O'Connell would make his return to action tomorrow night, however he was a late withdrawal due to personal reasons and did not travel with the squad.

James Cronin returns to the front row for the first time after making his Irish senior debut on the Summer Tour to Argentina and is joined in the front row by hooker Duncan Casey and tighthead Stephen Archer. Both Casey and Archer are promoted to a starting position having featured as replacements last weekend.

In the second row, Dave Foley is another promoted from the bench to a starting position and is partnered by Billy Holland who makes his second start in as many weeks.

CJ Stander retains his place at 6, with Tommy O'Donnell making his first start of the season at 7.

As you were at half-back with Duncan Williams and Ian Keatley lining out again at 9 and 10 respectively.

In the centre Ivan Dineen makes his first PRO12 start of the season at inside centre with Andrew Smith moving to outside channel for this weekend's clash.

While in the back three, Simon Zebo and Andrew Conway retain their places on the left and right wings respectively, with returning international full-back Felix Jones captaining the side for the first time and making his first appearance of the new season.

Munster team to play Treviso: (15-9) Felix Jones - capt, Andrew Conway, Andrew Smith, Ivan Dineen, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; (1-8) James Cronin, Duncan Casey, Stephen Archer; Dave Foley, Billy Holland; CJ Stander, Tommy O'Donnell, Robin Copeland

Replacements: (16-23) Kevin O'Byrne, John Ryan, BJ Botha, Donncha O'Callaghan, Sean Dougall, Cathal Sheridan, Johnny Holland, Ronan O'Mahony

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport