| 15.1°C Dublin

Hurley to lead Ireland club side for Scottish challenge


Cork Con's Gerry Hurley is set to captain the Ireland Club XV

Cork Con's Gerry Hurley is set to captain the Ireland Club XV

Brendan Moran/SPORTSFILE

Cork Con's Gerry Hurley is set to captain the Ireland Club XV

AN Ireland Club XV will host a Scotland Club XV at Cork Constitution's Temple Hill ground tonight (7:30).

Constitution's scrum-half Gerry Hurley will captain the side and joins his club colleague No 8 William Ryan in the starting line-up. Ger Slattery from Young Munster is named as hooker to start alongside prop Christy Condon from Dolphin in the front-row.

Cashel's second-row Sean Walsh and back-row James Ryan from Cork Con have been named on the bench.

The game will be the first of a two-match series with the Club side travelling to play England Counties in two weeks. Former Munster and Ireland scrum-half Tom Tierney, who currently holds the reins at Garryowen, is the Ireland Club XV head coach.

Another former Munster player, Cork Con's own Mick O'Driscoll, is the assistant coach with Seamus McDermott of Garryowen named as team manager.

The game will be played at Temple Hill following the success of last season's fixture against England Counties which Ireland won 30-20.

The Ireland Club XV will then travel to Mowden Park on Friday, February 21 to play the England Counties side. Tickets are on sale from the Cork Con clubhouse.

Pricing: Juvenile €5, Adults €10, Family (2 Adults and 2 Juveniles) €20.

Ireland club XV (squad v Scotland Clubs) – D Riordan (Old Belvedere ); C Aherne (Lansdowne ), S Morrow (Ballynahinch ), M Roche (Lansdowne), M McGrath (Clontarf); D Joyce (Clontarf), G Hurley (Cork Con, capt); C McMahon (St Mary's), Ger Slattery (Y Munster), C Condon (Dolphin); D Moore (Old Belvedere), F Walsh (Terenure); W Earle (Lansdowne), C Butterworth (Lansdowne), W Ryan (Cork Con ). Replacements: T Moran (Lansdowne), I Hirst (Clontarf), D Lavery (Old Belvedere), S Walsh (Cashel), J Ryan (Cork Con), N Cronin (Garryowen)/S Cronin (Clontarf), R McMaster (Queens), B Daly (UCD)

Irish Independent