Thursday 18 January 2018

Eight Munster stars get Ireland U-20s nod

Sean O’Connor makes a tackle on Kelvin Browne in a recent development match at Irish Independent Park. Photo: ©INPHO/James Crombie
Sean O’Connor makes a tackle on Kelvin Browne in a recent development match at Irish Independent Park. Photo: ©INPHO/James Crombie

The Ireland U-20 squad has been named by head coach Nigel Carolan for the Six Nations, which begins next Friday when Ireland host Wales in Donnybrook.

The 30-man squad features eight Munster players

Kelvin Browne (back-row), Shane Fenton (hooker), John Foley (back-row), Dan Walsh (backrow) and Sean O'Connor (second-row) are named in the forwards.

Shane Daly (centre), Paul Kiernan (centre) and John Poland (scrum half) have been selected in the backs.

All eight were part of Munster's winning Interprovincial squad that claimed the title last September, captained by Kieran.

Carolan said: "While we have just the four players returning from last season, we have been really impressed with the attitude and enthusiasm that the new guys have brought with them into the squad.

"We've had a number of camps with this group of players, as well as two warm-up games against Leinster and Munster before Christmas, so now we are just looking forward to getting the championship started against Wales"

Ireland will play all three of their home games against Wales, Italy and Scotland on Friday nights in Donnybrook Stadium. The series will again be sponsored by Electric Ireland.

Tickets are available from Ticketmaster

Ireland U-20s Squad for Six Nations


James Bollard (Dublin University / Leinster)

Kelvin Browne (Shannon / Munster)

Peter Claffey (Galwegians / Leinster)

Will Connors (UCD / Leinster)

Max Deegan (Lansdowne / Leinster)

Shane Fenton (Young Munster / Munster)

John Foley (Shannon / Munster)

Cillian Gallagher (Sligo RFC / Connacht)

Greg Jones (UCD / Leinster)

Conor Kenny (Buccaneers / Connacht)

Adam McBurney (Ballymena / Ulster)

Sean O'Connor (Cashel / Munster)

Conan O'Donnell (Sligo / Connacht)

Andrew Porter (UCD / Leinster)

James Ryan (Lansdowne / Leinster)

Dan Walsh (Cork Con / Munster)


Matthew Byrne (Terenure / Leinster)

Brett Connon (Newcastle Falcons / Exiles)

Shane Daly (Cork Con / Munster)

Hugo Keenan (UCD / Leinster)

Terry Kennedy (St. Mary's / Leinster)

Stephen Kerins (Sligo / Connacht)

Paul Kiernan (UCC / Munster)

Robert Lyttle (Queen's University / Ulster)

Johnny McPhillips (Queen's University / Ulster)

Conor O'Brien (Clontarf / Leinster)

Jimmy O'Brien (UCD / Leinster)

John Poland (Cork Con / Munster)

Jack Power (UCD / Leinster)

Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins / Ulster)

U-20 Six Nations Fixtures

Ireland U-20s v Wales U-20s

Donnybrook Stadium

Friday, February 5

France U-20s v Ireland U-20s

Parc des Sports et de l'Amitié, Narbonne

Friday, February 12

England U-20s v Ireland U-20s

Kingston Park, Newcastle

Friday, February 26

Ireland U-20s v Italy U-20s

Donnybrook Stadium

Friday, March 11

Ireland U-20s v Scotland U-20s

Donnybrook Stadium

Friday, March 18

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport