Friday 23 February 2018

Cronin and Kilcoyne get chance to shine in green

Munster loose-head prop James Cronin
Munster loose-head prop James Cronin

Daragh Small

Eight Munster players have been included in Joe Schmidt's 30-man Ireland squad ahead of their tour of Argentina at the beginning of next month.

Dolphin's loose-head prop James Cronin forms part of the quartet of uncapped players named, while Dave Kilcoyne has been given his chance after being controversially overlooked for Six Nations selection.

Meanwhile, Munster captain Damien Varley and Ireland skipper Paul O'Connell make up the forward contingent from a Munster perspective.

Simon Zebo has also been recalled for the tour after sitting out the Six Nations campaign, while Felix Jones' impressive displays from full-back have earned him the nod. Conor Murray hasn't been given the summer off either and Keith Earls' return from injury means he also joins up with the squad.

Ireland begin their campaign against Argentina in Resistencia on Saturday, June 7 and will follow that up in Tucuman a week later.

Ireland squad – Forwards: Rory Best (Ulster), James Cronin (Munster), Robbie Diack (Ulster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Rob Herring (Ulster), Dave Kilcoyne (Munster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Marty Moore (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Paul O'Connell (Munster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Damien Varley (Munster) Backs: Darren Cave (Ulster), Keith Earls (Munster), Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Felix Jones (Munster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Fergus McFadden (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster), Johnny Sexton (Racing Metro), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Simon Zebo (Munster).

Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport