| 12.8°C Dublin

Conor Murray takes over as Munster skipper as O'Connell and O'Callaghan renew partnership


Conor Murray will have a key role to play as Munster bid to regain top form against Zebre

Conor Murray will have a key role to play as Munster bid to regain top form against Zebre


Conor Murray will have a key role to play as Munster bid to regain top form against Zebre

Muntser boss Anthony Foley has given Conor Murray the captain's armband for tomorrow evening's clash with the Ospreys at Thomond Park.

Dave Kilcoyne makes his first start of the season with hooker Duncan Casey and tighthead BJ Botha remaining in situ in the front row.

Donncha O'Callaghan comes into the second row for Billy Holland who has played every minute of this season's PRO12 to date, and Munster's most capped player will be partnered by Paul O'Connell who makes his second consecutive league start.

Paddy Butler retains responsibility at 6, with Sean Dougall and CJ Stander returning to the starting line up at 7 and 8 respectively.

In the half backs Conor Murray will captain the side from scrum half, while Ian Keatley is back to take command of the 10 channel.

After impressing in the centre last time out against Zebre Denis Hurley will again start at inside centre alongside Ivan Dineen who completes the midfield partnership.

Gerhard van den Heever has recovered from a knee injury to make his first appearance of the season on the left wing.  The South African comes in for Simon Zebo, another who has played every minute of Munster's league campaign so far. 

Andrew Conway returns to the right wing with Johne Murphy starting at at fullback for the first time in this season's PRO12.

A strong performance on his senior debut last Friday sees year three Academy player Jack O'Donoghue included amongst the replacements once again this weekend.

Munster team to play the Ospreys: (15-9) Johne Murphy, Andrew Conway, Ivan Dineen, Denis Hurley, Gerhard van den Heever; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray Capt.; (1-8) Dave Kilcoyne, Duncan Casey, BJ Botha; Donncha O'Callaghan, Paul O'Connell; Paddy Butler, Sean Dougall, CJ Stander.

Replacements: (16-23) Kevin O'Byrne, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Dave Foley, Jack O'Donoghue, Duncan Williams, JJ Hanrahan, Andrew Smith.

The Ospreys team to face Munster at Thomond Park on Saturday 27th September 2014, KO 6.30pm, is as follows:


15 Dan Evans

14 Jeff Hassler

13 Andrew Bishop

12 Josh Matavesi

11 Eli Walker

10 Dan Biggar

9 Rhys Webb

1 Nicky Smith

2 Scott Baldwin

3 Aaron Jarvis

4 Alun Wyn Jones (Capt)

5 Rynier Bernardo

6 Joe Bearman

7 Justin Tipuric

8 Dan Baker



16 Sam Parry

17 Duncan Jones

18 Dmitri Arhip

19 James King

20 Morgan Allen

21 Martin Roberts

22 Sam Davies

23 Hanno Dirksen

Online Editors