Monday 10 December 2018

Club notes: Bandon raising funds to build on successes


Bandon RFC celebrating last season’s U-18 victory. Photo: INPHO/Bryan Keane
Bandon RFC celebrating last season’s U-18 victory. Photo: INPHO/Bryan Keane Sportsdesk

Bandon RFC enjoyed a memorable year during the 2017/'18 season with the club winning the Munster Junior League for the second time and their U-18 side crowned All-Ireland champions following Munster U-18 Cup and Munster U-16 Bowl success.

This coming season, there will be a continued focus on age-grade rugby with over 70 coaches developing the skills of approximately 350 youth and mini players.

Bandon are putting plans in place to enhance their grounds through a capital development programme, which will provide the club with new floodlights, dressing rooms and an improved drainage system.

The club have organised a series of fundraisers to support their development programme with the Dungeon of Doom taking place from Saturday, October 27 until Monday, October 29 while a Lip Sync Battle will also be hosted by the club on Saturday, November 24.

Collins kicks Garryowen into Limerick derby

Three of the four semi-finalists for the Bank of Ireland Munster Senior Challenge Cup competition have been confirmed.

Holders Garryowen came from 23-11 down midway through the second half to beat Young Munster 26-23 thanks to a penalty from Peadar Collins three minutes from time.

Garryowen will now face Shannon in the semi-final tonight after the Limerick side defeated Sunday's Well 36-0 at Irish Independent Park.

Cork Constitution edged out UCC 27-26 to book their place in the semi-final and will await the winners of next month's Cashel v Highfield tie to decide who they will meet in the last four.

Six Munster players make Griggs' squad

Ireland Women's head coach Adam Griggs has named his squad ahead of their November Series against USA and England.

A total of six Munster players have been included - last season's Ireland Women's captain Ciara Griffin, Enya Breen, Eimear Considine, Nicole Cronin, Fiona Reidy, and Laura Sheehan, with Cork's Anna Caplice and Leah Lyons also named.

Griggs has included nine new faces in the squad with six uncapped players and three uncapped development players.

The six uncapped players are Munster's Breen and Sheehan, Leinster's Emma Hoban, Ellen Murphy and Juliet Short along with Lauren Delany who qualified through an IQ Rugby screening day.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport