Wednesday 21 March 2018

Munster go into battle without one of their greatest warrior's as Foley changes 5 for Edinburgh Newsdesk Newsdesk

Munster were dealt another blow ahead of their crunch Pro12 clash with Edinburgh in Cork tomorrow night as inspirational second row Donnacha Ryan has failed to recover from a concussion and wasn't included in the starting line-up.

Ryan picked up head knocks in recent losses against Connacht and Leinster, leaving Anthony Foley's men urgently needing a win to ensure Champions Cup rugby is played at Thomond Park next season.

Ryan's place in the team has been taken by Dave Foley, while Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and Dave O'Callaghan were also brought into the pack.

The one change in the backline is on the wing, with Andrew Conway replacing Darren Sweetnam.

Elsewhere, Pat Lam has opted for squad rotation ahead of Connacht's away trip to Treviso, also tomorrow night.

Robbie Henshaw is named on the bench in a side that features ten changes.

Conancht's game kicks off at 19.30, with Munster's starting five minutes later.



15. Simon Zebo

14. Andrew Conway

13. Francis Saili

12. Rory Scannell

11. Keith Earls

10. Johnny Holland

9. Conor Murray


1. Dave Kilcoyne

2. Niall Scannell

3. Stephen Archer

4. Dave Foley

5. Billy Holland

6. Dave O’Callaghan

7. Tommy O’Donnell

8. CJ Stander (captain)



16. Mike Sherry

17. James Cronin

18. John Ryan

19. Robin Copeland

20. Jack O’Donoghue

21. Duncan Williams

22. Ian Keatley

23. Ronan O’Mahony



15. Blair Kinghorn

14. Damien Hoyland

13. Matt Scott

12. Andries Strauss

11. Tom Brown

10. Jason Tovey

9. Sean Kennedy


1. Alasdair Dickinson

2. Ross Ford (captain)

3. WP Nel

4. Anton Bresler

5. Ben Toolis

6. Jamie Ritchie

7. John Hardie

8. Cornell Du Preez



16. Stuart McInally

17. Rory Sutherland

18. John Andress

19. Alex Toolis

20. Magnus Bradbury

21. Sam Hidalgo-Clyne

22. Chris Dean

23. Dougie Fife



15           Tiernan O’Halloran

14           Niyi Adeolokun

13           Rory Parata

12           Peter Robb

11           Fionn Carr

10           Jack Carty

9              John Cooney


1              Ronan Loughney

2              Tom McCartney (captain)

3              Rodney Ah You

4              Quinn Roux

5              Andrew Browne

6              Sean O’Brien

7              Jake Heenan

8              Eoin McKeon



16           Dave Heffernan

17           JP Cooney

18           Finlay Bealham

19           Aly Muldowney

20           John Muldoon

21           Coalin Blade

22           AJ MacGinty

23           Robbie Henshaw

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport