Wednesday 13 December 2017

Marshall ends temple hopes


LEFT WING Odhran Duignan and prop Aubrey Marshall both scored tries to ensure favourites Newpark Comprehensive outpointed Mount Temple to return to the Section A final at Seapoint RFC yesterday.

Newpark will be hot favourites to win the title outright, given the presence of key Leinster U-19 players in their impressive out-half James Kelly, who kicked eight points, and No 8 Zac Jungmann.

Kelly's composed pirouette out of a tackle and simple pass sent Duignan away for the opening try of the match to give Newpark vital breathing space at 11-3 in the 22nd minute.

Tight-head Marshall knifed down the blindside for the sealing try near the hour mark, converted by Kelly.

However, Temple responded by moving quickly upfield for their best player Adam Merrey to expose defensive frailties with a quick tap-and-go in what was a high-quality encounter.

NEWPARK COMP -- S Crowe; P Collins, E O'Connor, F Halpin, O Duignan; J Kelly, E Thornley; K Sundermann, J Sheehan, A Marshall, R Garland, H Connor, J Wheatley, B Clarke, Z Jungmann. Reps: D Burke for Sundermann (55), A Campbell for Clarke (55), R Sherlock for Collins (61).

MOUNT TEMPLE -- S Kenney-Gains; N Maxwell, J Buckett, F Brennan, S Homan; A Merrey, H O'Dea; Colm Kelly, S Reamsbottom, Conor Kelly, S Gibney, K Prout, J Oscar-Gibbons, V Gavin, C McGinley. Reps: S O'Mahony for Conor Kelly (53), D Sharkey-O'Keeffe for Kenny-Gains (57).

REF -- N Brannigan (Leinster Branch).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport