Saturday 16 December 2017

Marist make history as Cooper seals cup double

Marist College, Athlone completed a provincial Senior and Junior Cup double for the first time at the Sportsground.

Tries from Tristram Ryan and Ross Cooper and a terrific kicking display from Luke Carty gave Marist a comprehensive win over the six-time winners, who also displayed moments of brilliance in a gripping decider.

Marist led by two Carty penalties to one from TJ Ford before Ryan ran in a try in stoppage-time to give his side an 11-3 cushion at the break.

Marist dominated after the restart, and Carty stretched the gap to 14 points with a brace of penalties.

Sligo pulled back an unconverted try through Cian Doyle and nearly had another, only for flanker Peter Oloyede to be brilliantly denied by Sean Hassett. And the Athlone boys had the final word, with Cooper sealing their fifth title at the grade, and their first since 2007.

Marist College –B Elliot (R Teape 65); C Melinn, B Stack, T Ryan, C Reid; L Carty, P Browne; E McCormack (W O'Meara 55), C Meleady (D Deehan 65), S Hassett; A Murphy, C Duignan; K Rigney, J O'Keeffe, R Cooper.

Sligo Grammar – N Gray; R Henry, R Feehily, TJ Forde, C Doyle; P Kilcoyne, D Scott (D Brady 37); K Wovtkowicz, C McGrath, D Smith; P West (A West 49), C Nielsen; P Oloyede, B Martin, D Gardner.

Ref –Jason Cairns (ARCB)

Heavin the hero for Gallen

Tries from Colin Kenny and Ryan Heavin helped Gallen CS to victory at the Sportsground.

The Ferbane school led 8-0 at the break. Coláiste Iognáid pulled back a converted try from James Colohan, but full-back Heavin's wonderful individual score put Gallen back in command, although they were relieved to see a late try from their Galway rivals ruled out for a forward pass.

Gallen CS – R Heavin; C Owens, B McEvoy, A Seery, J Stevenson; C Kenny, K Higgins; D Guinan, D Buckley, C Kelly; M O'Shea, A Kearns; J Quinn, J Clancy, T Corcoran.

Colaiste Iognaid – E Kelly; M Trainor, W Finnerty, P Butler, R Hunt; M Codyre, F O Griofa; B McShane, C Fallon, D O'Toole; D Dillon, M Higgins; F Durkan, J Colohan, C Greaney (C Gargan 46).

Ref – S McElwee (ARCB).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport