Wednesday 26 June 2019

English newspaper predicts that NINE Irishmen will make the 2021 Lions squad Newsdesk Newsdesk

Ireland will have two fewer players on the Lions squad when they tour South Africa in 2021, according to the Daily Telegraph.

With a long time before the red jersey of the Lions is donned again, they are predicting that Jack McGrath, Tadhg Furlong, Conor Murray  and Robbie Henshaw will be the only surviving Irish Lions in four years time from the trip to New Zealand this summer.

Ireland had 11 representatives on the plane this time around but the Telegraph are predicting that this number will decrease.

One player unlucky to miss out on Warren Gatland's squad was Garry Ringrose, who is now sidelined for 4-5 months after undergoing shoulder surgery but he should be peaking by the time the next tour begins.

"So close to making the cut in 2017, Ringrose will be an improved product by the time the South Africa tour rolls around. He is outstanding in a number of facets and keeps a low error count while offering a sharp attacking edge," the paper writes.

His Leinster teammates Joey Carbery,Josh van der Flier and exciting lock James Ryan are also predicted to travel.

The final irish squad member they stump for is Munster hooker Niall Scannell. He'll be 29 at the time of the next Lions tour.

Here is the Telegraph squad in full:


Rob Evans (Wales)

Jack McGrath (Ireland)

Mako Vunipola (England)

Jamie George (England)

Niall Scannell (Ireland)

Ryan Elias (Wales)

Zander Ferguson (Scotland)

Tadhg Furlong (Ireland)

Kyle Sinckler (England)

Maro Itoje (England)

Jonny Gray (England)

Joe Launchbury (England)

Courtney Lawes (England)

James Ryan (Ireland)

Taulupe Faletau (Wales)

Zach Mercer (England)

Ross Moriarty (Wales)

Sam Underhill (England)

Josh van der Flier (Ireland)

Billy Vunipola (England)

Sam Warburton (Wales)

Hamish Watson (Scotland)


Conor Murray (Ireland)

Ali Price (Scotland)

Tomos Williams (Scotland)

Owen Farrell (England)

George Ford (England)

Finn Russell (Scotland)

Jonathan Davies (Wales)

Robbie Henshaw (Ireland)

Harry Mallinder (England)

Joe Marchant (England)

Garry Ringrose (Ireland)

Joey Carbery (Ireland)

Joe Cokanasiga  (England)

Elliot Daly (England)

Steff Evans (Wales)

Stuart Hogg (Scotland)

Jack Nowell (England)

Anthony Watson (England)

Liam Williams (Wales)

Online Editors

The Throw-In: Why Kerry are not top contenders to challenge Dublin in All-Ireland race

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport