Monday 23 September 2019

Third time lucky for gutsy Balbriggan side

Club news

Balbriggan players in action
Balbriggan players in action

It was third time lucky for Balbriggan ladies as they eventually got their hands on the Bank of Ireland Leinster Rugby Paul Cusack Cup at Clondalkin RFC last Wednesday.

Having lost to Gorey on their two previous attempts, the Balbriggan girls will have a lot of sympathy for the Portlaoise girls who pushed them all the way in a very tough encounter.

Wicklow players at the Seapoint minis festiva
Wicklow players at the Seapoint minis festiva

Portlaoise had beaten a quality Navan side in the semi-final just three days previously (26-5) so the Balbriggan girls knew they were in for a tough game, given that they had only scraped past Navan in the league final.

Balbriggan opened the scoring with a try from Karen Heffernan after some good work from the pack.

After converting the opening try, out-half Dearbhla Sheridan then scored after breaking a number of tackles to touch down.

Balbriggan then lost their winger Joanne Moore to an ankle injury meaning they had to reorganise their back line.

Portlaoise were able to exploit this when their swift-footed full-back scorched up the wing to score cutting Balbriggan's lead to 12-5 at the break.

Portlaoise hit back hard at the start of the second half and didn't let Balbriggan get into their stride.

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

Good play by their forwards was rewarded by a number of penalties which took them into Balbriggan territory, allowing them to level the game with a converted try.

Sheridan then split the defence after a couple of dummy passes allowed her dive over at the corner flag for what would be the winning points.

After about seven minutes of extra-time, the full-time whistle went and the Balbriggan girls completed a remarkable and unbeaten 19-0 season.

Balbriggan RFC - Kelly Morgan, Jeanne Moore, Michelle Hutcheson, Siobhain Verdon,Valerie VanVeen, Dearbhla Sheridan, Rachael Mulligan, Karen Heffernan, Stephanie Campbell, Therese Tormey, Davina Doran, Tracey McFadden, Eadaoine Cannon, Anne O'Brien, Olivia Devine, Lisa Kelly, Holly Keogh, Laura Hamilton, Catherine Livesey, Leanne Whyte, Lynn Malone, Ruth Dunne.

Portlaoise RFC- Emma Brophy, Shannon Dunne, Alison Holmes, Sarah Murphy, Gemma Palmer, Louise Cody, Shauna Carroll, Yvonne Palmer, Diane Lawlor, Rosie Palmer, Marianne Jordan, Sarah Culliton, Steph Gleeson, Tina Wright, Claire O'Connell, Orla Franks, Nicola Larkin, Laura O'Brien, Katie Donnelly, Rachel Palmer.

Girls and boys do Wicklow proud

Wicklow RFC's U-10 and U-12 boys and girls finished off a great season by taking part in Seapoint RFC's Minis Rugby Festival last weekend.

The U-10 girls' games against Greystones and Mullingar were played in great spirits.

The U-12 girls took on Mullingar, Navan, and Greystones in fantastic conditions.

The girls wrapped up a fantastic season and look forward to playing some fun touch rugby over the summer.

The U-10 boys came up against some quality teams from across Leinster, including Lansdowne, Bective, DLSP, Ratoath, St Brigid's and Galway Bay.

The boys did themselves proud with some excellent running, support play, tenacious tackling and heroic defence.

A strong team of U-12 boys enjoyed some excellent rugby with matches against Suttonians, Clanwilliam, Wanderers and Portlaoise.

The Wicklow lads saw some fantastic action and showed true grit and determination throughout their four physical encounters.

Their sporting spirit and excellent teamwork shone on the pitch as they played their last games in minis rugby.

A special thanks to all in Seapoint RFC and to Rory O'Loughlin and James Ryan who took time out and attended the festival.

Wesley fighting 5ths claim double double

Since its foundation in 1891 Old Wesley has won 61 cup and league trophies but only five teams have achieved league and cup doubles.

A new record was achieved last weekend when the 5ths won successive doubles after duplicating their feat of last season. This is a brilliant achievement and was sealed with a 34-23 win over UCD in the O'Connor Cup Final. This came hot on the heels of their Metro 7 League win having completes a Metro 8 and O'Connor Cup double in 2017.

There were some familiar names in this side, sons of well-known Old Wesley families: Stephen Keane, son of Declan; Michael Kearney, son of Noel; Simon Campion, son of Angus and grandson of Ernie Bodell; Andrew Boyle, son of Herbie; Cameron Wood, son of Willie; Zak Bursey, son of Dave; and of course Graham Richmond, son of Tom.

Old Wesley team - G Morrison, R Fitzgerald, P Quigley, S Keane, J Smith, D Keelty, C Wood, S Pollock, I Pollock, M Kearney, C Donaldson, C Summerville, Z Bursey, C McKeever, S Campion. Reps: A Boyle, C Kidd, B Leveau, G Richmond, A Vines.

scorers - S Campion, try; P Quigley, 2 tries; D Keelty, try; S Keane, try, con; C Wood, try; C Summerville, con.

Blitz a big success

Last Saturday, De La Salle College, Churchtown hosted an Inclusion Rugby Blitz and welcomed the Dragons of Seapoint RFC, Westmanstown Wasps, and the school's sister club De La Salle Palmerston Eagles to Churchtown for a series of games.

Students from fifth year and TY helped facilitate the blitz in conclusion of their community and sports science and coaching modules.

De La Salle College would like to acknowledge the superb support by Jill Tyrell and Murray's of O'Connell Street.

Irish Independent

The Left Wing - RWC daily: Bullet trains as Ireland spread wings

Also in Sport