Tuesday 17 September 2019

Ross Byrne makes first Champions Cup start as Leo Cullen names starting 15 for Northampton clash

Ross Byrne will continue his rise when he starts at out-half for Leinster on Saturday. Photo: Getty
Ross Byrne will continue his rise when he starts at out-half for Leinster on Saturday. Photo: Getty
Leinster's Ross Byrne. Photo: Seb Daly/Sportsfile

Harry Clarke

Ross Byrne will make his first Champions Cup start for Leinster when Leo Cullen's men face Northampton Saints at the RDS tomorrow (Saturday, 7.45pm).

With Johny Sexton and Joey Carbery both out injured, Byrne gets the nod at number 10 after impressing when he came on as a substitute in last weekend's comfortable 37-10 win over the Saints.

With Rob Kearney also ruled out of the Aviva Stadium clash, South African Zane Kirchner has been drafted in to the starting line up to win his 75th cap.

Otherwise it is the same starting 15 that comprehensively beat Northampton last Friday night.

LEINSTER: (Leinster caps in brackets)

15. Zane Kirchner (74)

14. Adam Byrne (9)

13. Garry Ringrose (30)

12. Robbie Henshaw (4)

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

11. Isa Nacewa CAPTAIN (159)

10. Ross Byrne (8)

9. Luke McGrath (60)

1. Jack McGrath (102)

2. Sean Cronin (122)

3. Tadhg Furlong (57)

4. Devin Toner (188)

5. Hayden Triggs (19)

6. Sean O’Brien (106)

7. Josh van der Flier (33)

8. Jamie Heaslip (224)


16. James Tracy (28)

17. Cian Healy (162)

18. Michael Bent (71)

19. Rhys Ruddock (120)

20. Jack Conan (36)

21. Jamison Gibson-Park (12)

22. Noel Reid (70)

23. Rory O’Loughlin (8)


CONNACHT (v Ospreys,  Aberavon RFC, Sunday December 18th, 2pm)

15 Matthew Byrne (Galwegians RFC)

14 Colm de Buitlear (Corinthians RFC)

13 Jack Harrington (Young Munster RFC)

12 Ed O’Keeffe (Galwegians RFC)

11 Jordan Conroy (Buccaneers RFC)

10 Luke Carty (Buccaneers RFC)

9 Conor Lowndes (Buccaneers RFC)


1 Jack Dinneen (2) (Galwegians RFC

2 Pat O’Toole (Corinthians RFC)

3 Saba Meunargia (2) (Buccaneers RFC)

4 Cian Romaine (Buccaneers RFC)

5 Danny Qualter (captain) (14) Buccaneers RFC)

6 Marc Kelly (Galwegians RFC)

7 Rory Moloney (1) (Buccaneers RFC)

8 James Connolly (21) (Corinthians RFC)


16 Shane O’Hehir (Sligo RFC)

17 Jason East (Galwegians RFC)

18 Cillian Gallagher (Sligo RFC)

19 Stephen McVeigh (Buccaneers RFC)

20 Stephen Kerins (Corinthians RFC)

21 Conor McKeon (2) (Buccaneers RFC)

22 Joe Murphy (Corinthians RFC)

MUNSTER (v Leicester Tigers, (Saturday, 3.15), Welford Road)

Munster: Simon Zebo; Darren Sweetnam, Jaco Taute, Rory Scannell, Keith Earls; Tyler Bleyendaal, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland; Peter O'Mahony - capt., Tommy O'Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, James Cronin, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Jack O'Donoghue, Duncan Williams, Ian Keatley, Andrew Conway.

Ulster (v ASM Clermont Auvergne, Sunday 18th December, Stade Marcel Michelin, 3.05pm)

(15-9): C Piutau, T Bowe, L Marshall, S McCloskey, L Ludik, P Jackson, R Pienaar;

(1-8): K McCall, R Best (captain), W Herbst, P Browne, F van der Merwe, I Henderson, C Henry, S Reidy;

Replacements (16-23): R Herring, A Warwick, R Ah You, K Treadwell, C Ross, P Marshall, D Cave, J Stockdale.

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Ireland's fullback dilemma, World Cup bonding and the squad standby list

Also in Sport