Tuesday 18 June 2019

Railway honour efforts of captain Maher

Leinster’s president-elect Robert Deacon with Railway Union club captain Aoife Maher
Photo: Cian Ryan
Leinster’s president-elect Robert Deacon with Railway Union club captain Aoife Maher Photo: Cian Ryan

Independent.ie newsdesk

Railway Union RFC hosted a unique club captain's pre-match brunch on the morning of the Ireland v Wales game during the Women's Six Nations.

"We changed our club structures five years ago so that our club captain would be separate from team captains," said Railway chairperson Grant Hourigan.

"This way the club captain can be any player from any adult team in the club and not necessarily the automatic default of the Men's 1st XV captain being club captain. Our view was that the club captain would be someone that would represent all of the club and be a role model.

"Aoife Maher was elected unanimously by our members to become our club captain for this season. She is the first female club captain in Railway's history and the first female club captain of any rugby club in Ireland," concluded Hourigan.

Charlie Hurley, who was Railway's club captain in 1972, was the guest speaker at the event and spoke generously of Aoife's contribution to the club on and off the field, her willingness to tog out on whatever team she was picked, and welcomed her family, who had made the trip from Galway for the occasion.

President-elect Robert Deacon, who was one of a number of Leinster and IRFU guests, congratulated the former Leinster player on behalf of Leinster Rugby.

Afterwards, a bus brought all present to Donnybrook to cheer on Ireland as they defeated Wales, where five Railway players - Lindsay Peat, Cliodhna Moloney, Aoife McDermott, Ailsa Hughes and Kim Flood - were in action.

Wesley win refs' award

Old Wesley have been awarded the Leinster Referees Rugby Club of the Year Trophy. 

The award was presented to Old Wesley president Paul Short at the Association of Referees Leinster Branch Annual Dinner last Saturday.

The award is based on a number of criteria including facilities for referees, pitch condition and markings, player attitude to referees, club and committee hospitality towards referees and Old Wesley were deserving winners of the 2017/'18 Award.

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Dublin hurlers come of age, who will stand up for Offaly and Anthony Cunningham's unique record

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport