Friday 20 July 2018

Mullingar dethrone Boyne to seal a midlands treble

'The Mullingar U-14s can now head off on tour to Venice'
'The Mullingar U-14s can now head off on tour to Venice' newsdesk

Mullingar U-14s beat Boyne 25-7 in last Saturday's U-14 Premier League final in glorious conditions in Edenderry for Leinster Finals Day.

As they waited for their turn the squad witnessed Roscrea and Edenderry begin a historic afternoon for Midlands rugby, running out as champions of Division 2 and Division 1 respectively.

Buoyed on and cheered on to the pitch by a huge support, Mullingar set about making it three out of three for the Midlands. Only one obstacle stood in the way, unbeaten reigning Premier League Champions Boyne RFC.

Mullingar took the lead as a scintillating break by half-backs Adam Treanor and Fionn O'Hara resulted in a try for O'Hara in the corner. Five minutes later, Sean Cronin reclaimed a kick and set up O'Hara's second try, with Ben McGauran's making it 12-0 up.

Boyne responded with a multi-phase try which was converted.

Both teams continued to test each other in the second half with great play from both in attack and in defence. Darragh Seery proved his worth with two breathtaking tap tackles to deny certain tries for Boyne.

This resolute defence provided the platform for the defining moments as an intercept try by Conor Gibney, with ten minutes to go, stopped any further Boyne momentum.

A remarkable day, a remarkable season and a remarkable team. Hard luck to Boyne but well done on a great game and for being excellent champions.

The Mullingar U-14s can now head off on tour to Venice to compete in a tournament hosted by Rugby Club Piave on April 25 in the knowledge they are Leinster champions.

Congratulations to all.

Mullingar squad: Adam Bauer, Adam Treanor, Anthony Moran, Ben McGauran, Conor Gibney, Conor Mooney, Daragh Seery, Dylan Farrell-Daly, Eric Bates, Ethan Heffernan, Evan Coade, Evan Molloy, Fintan Larkin, Fionn O'Hara, Gerry Duffy-McAndrew, Hugh O'Neill, Jason Malone, Joseph Boyan, Mark Flynn, Michael Conlon, Patrick Kane, Sean Cronin, Shane Williams.

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport