Tuesday 15 October 2019

Leinster confirm 21 new contracts for 2019/20 season - but Rob Kearney isn't on the list

Rob Kearney during Leinster Rugby squad training at Rosemount in UCD, Dublin. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile
Rob Kearney during Leinster Rugby squad training at Rosemount in UCD, Dublin. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

There is further uncertainty around the future of Ireland star Rob Kearney after the fullback wasn't included on a list of Leinster's new contracts for next season.

The province confirmed that 21 players have been handed new deals heading into the 2019/20 season, a list which included three players - Cian Healy, Robbie Henshaw and Johnny Sexton - on national contracts.

However, despite Kearney's deal running out after the World Cup, he wasn't included among the players signing new deals or the seven men leaving the province.

Speaking about his contract situation last month, Kearney said that talks were progressing with the IRFU slowly.

"Discussions have started with the IRFU," he said. "They’re slow, they’re progressing a little bit, but I’m not in a huge rush."

Connacht wing Cian Kelleher is returning to Leinster ahead of next season while seven academy players have been promoted to the senior squad, including teenager Scott Penny.

New Leinster contracts 2019/20

1. Bryan Byrne

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

2. Jack Conan

3. Max Deegan

4. Scott Fardy

5. Ciaran Frawley

6. Jamison Gibson-Park

7. Cian Healy

8. Robbie Henshaw

9. Dave Kearney

10. Hugo Keenan

11. Cian Kelleher

12. Ronan Kelleher

13. Dan Leavy

14. Fergus McFadden

15. Luke McGrath

16. Josh Murphy

17. Conor O'Brien

18. Jimmy O'Brien

19. Hugh O'Sullivan

20. Scott Penny

21. Johnny Sexton

Academy Players Promoted to Senior Squad:

1. Ciarán Frawley

2. Hugo Keenan

3. Rónan Kelleher

4. Conor O’Brien

5. Jimmy O’Brien

6. Hugh O’Sullivan

7. Scott Penny

Leinster Rugby – Departees 2018/19:

1. Tom Daly

2. Mick Kearney

3. Nick McCarthy

4. Jack McGrath

5. Ian Nagle

6. Seán O’Brien

7. Noel Reid

Online Editors

The Left Wing - RWC Daily: Quarter-final fever hits as Ireland gear up for toughest test of all

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport