Wednesday 19 June 2019

Leinster club notes: Athy's Anderson gets Hall of Fame honour


Hall of Fame award winner Roger Anderson of Athy RFC with Sean O’Brien and John Smith of Best Menswear. Photo: Sportsfile
Hall of Fame award winner Roger Anderson of Athy RFC with Sean O’Brien and John Smith of Best Menswear. Photo: Sportsfile Sportsdesk

Roger Anderson of Athy RFC was named the winner of the Sean O'Brien Hall of Fame award for 2019 at a lunch in the Ballsbridge Hotel last week.

The lunch was a warm-up event for the Leinster v Ulster PRO14 clash in the RDS.

MC for the day was Philip Lawlor and this year the guest speaker was Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt.

Philip is the domestic rugby manager in Leinster with responsibility for rugby development in the province.

He played as No 8 for Leinster from 1988-1994 and was part of the Irish squad from 1990-1994 and was capped on three occasions by Ireland.

It was fitting to have Schmidt as guest speaker at this celebration of junior rugby in Leinster.

Joe's first foray into Irish rugby was as player-coach for Mullingar RFC in the early 1990s.

Lorcan Balfe, president of Leinster Rugby, presented Schmidt with a commemorative bronze sculpture, on behalf of all the clubs of Leinster, in acknowledgement of all he has done for Irish rugby.

The organisers were also delighted to have Leinster and Ireland player Seán O'Brien at the lunch, as well as Peter Dooley and Josh van der Flier.

Nine trophies were showcased on the day, - the European Cup and the Guinness PRO14, the All-Ireland Junior Interprovincial Cup, the Provincial Towns Cup and Plate, the Metropolitan Cup and Plate, Leinster League D1 Cup and the Metro League D1 Cup.

Nine trophies, representing Leinster's top junior rugby competitions and Leinster's 'From The Ground Up' policy.

Women's interprovincial win gets deserved recognition

Before the Leinster v Connacht game, the Leinster Senior Women's squad were presented with jerseys at an event in Bank of Ireland, Pembroke Road to celebrate their 2018/19 Interprovincial Championship triumph.

Thirty-five players from eight clubs formed the squad which defeated Ulster in Blackrock College RFC, Connacht in The Sportsground, and finally drew with Munster in Energia Park in a thrilling 14-14 series decider.

The squad captained by Sene Naoupu took to the pitch at half-time during the Connacht game for a lap of honour with the Interprovincial Championship trophy.

Also on the night, 13 players from five clubs were presented with their first cap, followed by jersey presentations to all the players.

The 13 debutants awarded caps were: Emma Hooban (St Mary's RFC), Katie O' Dwyer (Railway Union RFC), Jamie Deacon (Blackrock College RFC), Hannah O'Connor (Blackrock College RFC), Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere RFC), Nikki Caughey (Railway Union RFC), Gemma Matthews (Old Belvedere RFC), Lauren Farrell McCabe (Suttonians RFC), Chloe Blackmore (Railway Union RFC), Linda Djoujong (Old Belvedere RFC), Nicole Purdom (Suttonians RFC), Ray Lawless (Blackrock College RFC), Ann Marie Rooney (Blackrock College RFC).


Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Dublin hurlers come of age, who will stand up for Offaly and Anthony Cunningham's unique record

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport