Wednesday 20 November 2019

Leinster Club News: Malahide success story ends with place in AIL

It has been truly one of the great rugby success stories in recent times, from Division Three Leinster League in 2010/11 to All-Ireland League in 2017/18. Photo: Getty Images
It has been truly one of the great rugby success stories in recent times, from Division Three Leinster League in 2010/11 to All-Ireland League in 2017/18. Photo: Getty Images Sportsdesk

At the Christmas break we predicted that all roads would lead to Ross Road, Enniscorthy and the last league game of the season between Enniscorthy and Malahide.

We would like to claim to have the prophetic qualities of Cassandra, daughter of Priam, as this is what transpired, but it was probably more to do with these two teams being the two stand-out junior teams in Leinster.

Malahide had led the league from the start up until this point but Enniscorthy, the reigning champions, never gave up the chase and although five points separated them, Enniscorthy knew a four-try victory and also denying their visitors any bonus points would clinch the league title and the first back-to-back Leinster League titles since the all-conquering Kilkenny team did it in 2001 and 2002.

Alas for Enniscorthy, a Dave Mongan try was the decisive score as Malahide showed their champion qualities and won in Ross Road 17-16 to clinch the title in style.

Of course Malahide went on to enter the All-Ireland Round-Robin series and secure their place in the Ulster Bank League for next season.

It has been truly one of the great rugby success stories in recent times, from Division Three Leinster League in 2010/11 to All-Ireland League in 2017/18.

De La Salle Cup stalwarts honoured

The 'full house' signs went up early at the recent gathering at De La Salle College Churchtown, to celebrate the college 's 60th consecutive season of Senior Cup Rugby in Leinster.

On the night a number of rugby milestones were acknowledged, including the official opening of a SCT Captains' Board. The board lists all the Senior Cup team captains, from the very first Donal Lehane of the 1956/'57 SCT team, through to the current captain Ryan McLoughlin and is dedicated in memory of the late Damien McCoy, the captain of the 1986/'87 team.

Amongst those in attendance on the night included the first three former past pupils who got capped for Ireland: Des Fitzgerald, Brian Glennon and Tom Clancy.

Regrettably, due to the unforeseen re-scheduling of Connacht's away Guinness PRO12 game to Zebre, the college's most recent Irish International Niyi Adeolokun could not be in attendance to personally present his first Irish jersey back to the Principal Ms O'Connell.

This was done by Matt Curran, who was captain of Niyi's SCT team in 2008-'09.

A number of presentations to acknowledge the contribution of a number of its recently-retired rugby teachers, including former Irish Schools manager and current senior vice-president of the Leinster Branch, Lorcan Balfe, former Ireland Youths coach and rugby stalwart of the College, Aidan Kenna, Brendan Cryan, Paddy Adams, Dick Ryan, Austin Quirke and Brian Farrelly (who coached the first of the two College teams win the Leinster Schools Senior Cup in 1983), also took place on the night.

Following the presentations, the new training floodlights were officially turned on by the current Senior Cup team captain Ryan McLoughlin and Leinster U-17 squad member Adam Nealon.

The College would like to thank all the past pupils who turned up in such huge numbers to attend the night and the many, in particular those from abroad, who sent so many messages very kind of goodwill and their apologies for being unable to attend.

Finally, special thanks to Mick Kirwan and Thomas Leigh for all their work in advance of the night.

Belvedere next stop in World Cup tour

This summer the eyes of the rugby world will turn yet again to Ireland when the Women's Rugby World Cup will be hotly contested by 16 countries from across the globe in both Dublin and Belfast.

In the lead-up, the Women's Rugby World Cup Trophy is taking a grand tour of Irish rugby clubs and schools the length and breadth of the island.

As part of the Trophy Tour, Old Belvedere RFC are delighted to be hosting a Q&A evening in the Old Belvedere RFC clubhouse at Anglesea Road on Monday, May 1 at 6pm.

The event will be chaired by ex-Ireland captain Fiona Coughlan and will feature a number of guest speakers:

• Sophie Spence - World Rugby Women's Player of the Year nominee.

• Yvonne Nolan - Legal Counsel at World Rugby.

• Helen O'Reilly - International Referee.

• Nora Stapleton - Women and Girls Development Manager IRFU.

• Hannah Tyrrell - 7s/15s International, mental health ambassador.

The WRWC trophy will be on display on the night and there will be plenty of photo opportunities!

Come along and join Old Belvedere RFC for what promises to be a fantastic insight into the rise of women in rugby!

Check out the Old Belvedere RFC and Old Belvedere Ladies Facebook pages for free ticket details or email for more information.

Irish Independent

The Left Wing: Champions Cup returns, Jacob Stockdale's development, and Simon Zebo goes back to Munster

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport