Monday 19 February 2018

Leinster centre Ben Te'o included in England squad for summer tour to Australia

Duncan Bech

Manu Tuilagi has been included in England's squad for Australia despite sustaining a hamstring injury that threatens his participation in the tour.

Tuilagi incurred the injury during Leicester's defeat by Saracens in Saturday's Aviva Premiership semi-final at Allianz Park and it is understood the initial prognosis is that he will be sidelined for six weeks.

Owen Farrell, who suffered a rib problem in the same match, is also present and there are four uncapped players in the 32-strong squad selected for the three-Test series against the Wallabies.

Leinster centre Ben Te'o - who starred for the province in Friday's Pro12 semi-final win over Ulster - could make their England debut next month after Eddie Jones opted to name him in his squad.

Te'o will play for the province one more time, in next Saturday's final against Connacht, before joining Worcester ahead of next season.

Read more: Planes, trains and automobiles: Fans face scramble to get to all-Irish Pro12 final as cost of flights soar

Wing Chris Ashton is a shock exclusion from the touring party, which will be captained by Dylan Hartley.

"We are still a young squad with an average age of 24 so this will be a big learning experience," head coach Eddie Jones said.

"This will be the first time many of the players will have toured Australia so there's no historical baggage there and mentally we'll be in a good place off the back of the Six Nations."

England squad for three-test tour of Australia

Forwards (18): D Cole (Leicester), L Cowan-Dickie (Exeter), J Clifford (Harlequins), E Genge (Bristol), J George (Saracens), T Harrison (Northampton), D Hartley (Northampton, capt), J Haskell (Wasps), P Hill (Northampton), M Itoje (Saracens), G Kruis (Saracens), J Launchbury (Wasps), C Lawes (Northampton), M Mullan (Wasps), C Robshaw (Harlequins), K Sinckler (Harlequins), B Vunipola (Saracens), M Vunipola (Saracens)

Backs (14): M Brown (Harlequins), D Care (Harlequins), E Daly (Wasps), O Farrell (Saracens), G Ford (Bath), A Goode (Saracens), J Joseph (Bath), J Nowell (Exeter), H Slade (Exeter), B Te'o (Leinster), M Tuilagi (Leicester), A Watson (Bath), M Yarde (Harlequins), Ben Youngs (Leicester)

Press Association

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport