Tuesday 19 March 2019

Juniors claim inter-pro glory with Ulster victory

Club news

Leinster Juniors celebrate their inter-pro victory
Leinster Juniors celebrate their inter-pro victory

Leinster Rugby Juniors became the 2018 Junior interprovincial champions after they defeated reigning champions Ulster at the University of Ulster Coleraine last Saturday.

Leinster had already secured victories over Connacht at Ballinrobe RFC and Munster at Coolmine RFC and with Ulster also unbeaten it meant it was a winner-takes-all match-up.

Younger De La Salle players
Younger De La Salle players

Ulster were quick out of the blocks with a penalty scored by Lee Steenson.

A few minutes later, Leinster were awarded a penalty for a high tackle. The ball was kicked to touch, and from the ensuing lineout, Leinster deployed a superbly worked move that saw the forwards split, one group moving forward in the lineout, the other moving backwards.

The ball was thrown into the gap that opened in the centre which Simon Feeney burst through. There was no stopping the big wing forward as he crossed the whitewash for the first try of the game.

The try was converted by Dundalk's Gearoid McDonald, giving the boys in blue a 3-7 lead after 10 minutes.

Both sides then exchanged penalties before Leinster struck with a killer score on half-time.

A beautiful move saw the ball moved from inside their own 22 to the Ulster 22, before Dundalk's Derek Williams went in under the posts for Leinster's second try. McDonald kicked the conversion bringing the half-time score to 6-17.

Leinster's hard work was rewarded just after the 70-minute mark after a penalty was kicked deep into the Ulster 22. From the resulting lineout Leinster won possession and set up a rolling maul. The ball was securely held at the back of the maul and the Leinster men drove hard for the Ulster line. Kilkenny RFC man Wes Carter rumbled over the Ulster line.

Ulster were far from finished and on 76 minutes Ryan Garrett went over for a try far out to the left of the Leinster posts. The conversion was missed leaving the score at 18-24.

Leinster Juniors: D Costello (S Duffy); D Williams, M Russell, M Stapleton (P O'Connor), C Carty; G McDonald, S Horan (C McCrossan); J Gray (C Bannon), S Arrowsmith (J Gorman), R Farrell (D Quinn); W Carter, B McManus; K O'Gorman, S Feeney (R Foot), T Satchwell (T Brady).

DLSP set to host Mini Tag World Cup

Established in 1972, De La Salle Palmerston FC proudly boasts being the oldest mini rugby section in Leinster Rugby.

For more than 40 years, DLSP FC's family friendly ethos and welcoming manner have been central factors to the recruitment of thousands of children at their first steps in playing rugby.

All ages and abilities have always been made feel very welcome.

The focus for the children has always been on participation and having fun.

With Irish rugby's success in recent years, we have seen an explosion of interest in the game, which in turn has seen numbers of new members soar and thanks to the proactive support of Leinster Rugby (and our dedicated DLR club and community rugby officer Jonathan Sharkey), the club have been working on and implementing a successful tag rugby programme with local schools.

With this in mind DLSP FC are delighted to announce its inaugural Mini Tag Rugby World Cup, which will see the club reach out further to local community.

The event will run May 21-25 at 7.0pm in DLSP FC's impressive 16-acre site in Kilternan.

The club provides fully IRFU-qualified and Garda-vetted coaches, along with qualified first aiders at every level.

The Mini Tag Rugby World Cup will be open to all boys and girls born 2006-2012 inclusive.

Registration is available on the club website: www.dlspfc.ie

Further details are available from the mini youth secretary: dlspminiyouths@gmail.com

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Dublin's issues, Corofin's greatness and Waterford's quiet development

In association with Allianz

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport