Monday 22 January 2018

Club Rugby: Sad day as Boyne lose AIL status

Stock image
Stock image

Saturday was a sad day for Boyne as they were beaten 29-9 at home in Shamrock Lodge by Omagh Academicals in the Ulster Bank League Round Robin play-off so lost their AIL status after six years of competing on the national stage.

Trailing 7-6 at half time the Drogheda side managed to get their noses in front early in the second half.

However, three further tries from the visitors ensured that the Tyrone club will be making its debut in the Ulster Bank League next season.

The fallout of the Boyne defeat for Leinster League clubs is that the losers of the four play-offs will play in the lower divisions next season.

Clondalkin will play in Division 1B, Co Carlow in Division 2A, Wexford Wanderers in Division 2B and Ardee in Division 3.

Malahide's promotion to the Ulster Bank League creates a vacancy in the All-Ireland Junior Cup, which is taken up by Ashbourne, who finished fifth in Division 1A.

The Meath club will now join Enniscorthy, De La Salle Palmerston and Gorey in the 1st round draw.

Here is a wrap up of the various winners and losers in the Leinster League (all Division winners were automatically promoted):

Leinster League

Division 1A

Winners: Malahide

Runners-up: Enniscorthy

Relegated: Kilkenny

Division 1B

Winners: Wicklow

Runners-up: Clondalkin

Relegated: Mullingar

Division 2A

Winners: Longford

Runners-up: Co Carlow

Relegated: Roscrea

Division 2B

Winners: New Ross

Runners-up: Wexford Wanderers

Relegated: Athboy and Ardee

Division 3

Winners: North Meath

Runners Up: Midland Warriors (also promoted)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport