Tuesday 16 January 2018

Kelly hat-trick inspires Leinster

Leinster 35
Munster 18

ALEX KELLY supplied a hat-trick of tries as an unstoppable Leinster crushed Munster at Donnybrook to claim their sixth successive championship.

It was the combination of Kelly's second try and a superb individual effort from Sam Coghlan-Murray -- he sped away from his own 22-metre line -- that pushed Leinster out to a 23-13 lead midway through the second period.

Still, Munster were driven forward at every opportunity by their standout centre JJ Hanrahan, who contributed 13 points, including a 73rd-minute try.

But Kelly and his centre partner Collie O'Shea closed out the game with Leinster's fourth and fifth tries to wrap up the title.

Leinster -- M Sherlock (Skerries); S Coghlan-Murray (UCD), A Kelly (UCD), C O'Shea (Clontarf), A Boyle (UCD, M McGrath (Clontarf) 75); C Marsh (Trinity, G McDonald (Old Belvedere) 78), P du Toit (UCD); P Reilly ( Lansdowne, T Furlong (Clontarf) 44), D Doyle (UCD, P Carroll (Blackrock College) 78), M Moore (Lansdowne, Capt) M Kearney (Clontarf), E McMahon (UCD, R Hynes (UCD) 78), J Murphy (Lansdowne), M McGroarty ( UCD, P Dix (UCD) 44), E Joyce (UCD).

Munster -- G Quinn-McDonagh (Shannon); L Kuntz (Garryowen, J Costigan (PBC) 61), C Hircock (Garryowen), JJ Hanrahan (UL-Bohemian), C Quinn (CBC); J Holland (UCC, D Horgan (PBC) 65), R Barry (PBC); J Randles (Crescent College), N Scannell (Dolphin, K O'Byrne (UCC) 58), P Mullen (King's Hospital), C O'Flaherty (PBC), D O'Mahony (Cork Constitution, R O'Herlihy (PBC) 70), S Buckley (Garryowen, Capt, (T Goggin (UL-Bohemian) 50), S Hanbidge (Cork Con), L Cahill (Rockwell College).

Ref -- M Patton (IRFU).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport