Sport Rugby

Sunday 17 December 2017

Johnny Sexton and Sean O'Brien on shortlist for fans' world player of the year

Jonathan Sexton
Jonathan Sexton
Sean O'Brien

Jonny Sexton and Sean O'Brien are the two Irish players included on a 45-strong shortlist for the inaugural supporters' International Rugby Players Association Awards.

Only one England player, Alex Corbisiero, has been included on the shortlist. 

Corbisiero, who has been ruled out of Saturday's clash with New Zealand because of a knee problem, is the sole representative from Stuart Lancaster's team.

The shortlist for the international player of the year and world XV of the year was drawn up by a panel of recently retired Test players. Votes cast by fans will decide the winners.

World Cup holders New Zealand have the most entries with 14 players, followed by eight from Six Nations champions Wales.

They are Leigh Halfpenny, Jonathan Davies, Jamie Roberts, George North, Toby Faletau, Alun Wyn Jones, Adam Jones and Richard Hibbard.

There are five players from South Africa, four from France, three each from Argentina, Samoa and Australia, two from Ireland and one each from England, Italy and Fiji.

England sit third in the International Rugby Board's rankings and have won nine of their last 10 matches.

There are separate awards voted for by players, who will pick their nominees for player of the year, newcomer of the year, team of the Year and world XV of the year.



15: Willie le Roux ( SA), Leigh Halfpenny (Wales), Israel Dagg (New Zealand) 14 Israel Folau (Australia), Ben Smith (NZ ), Napolioni Nalaga (Fiji) 13 Wesley Fofana (France), Jonathan Davies (Wales), Conrad Smith (NZ) 12 Jamie Roberts (Wales), Ma’a Nonu (NZ), Jean de Villiers (SA) 11 George North (Wales), Julian Savea (NZ), Sitiveni Sivivatu (NZ) 10 Dan Carter (NZ), Johnny Sexton (Ireland), Aaron Cruden (NZ) 9 Kahn Fotuali’i (Samoa), Aaron Smith (NZ), Will Genia (Aus) 8 Kieran Read (NZ), Sergio Parisse (Italy), Toby Faletau (Wales) 7 Sean O’Brien (Ireland), Richie McCaw (NZ), Francois Louw (SA) 6 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Argentina), Louis Picamoles (France), Liam Messam (NZ) 5 James Horwill (Aus), Brodie Retallick (NZ), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales) 4 Sam Whitelock (NZ), Eben Etzebeth (SA), Joe Tekori (Sam) 3 Juan Figallo (Arg), Adam Jones (Wales), Census Johnston (Samoa) 2 Bismarck du Plessis (SA), Benjamin Kayser (France), Richard Hibbard (Wales) 1 Vincent Debaty (France), Alex Corbiseiro (England), Marcos Ayerza (Argentina)

Press Association

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport