Joe Kennedy brace gives St Michael’s final say in replay against Belvedere

Leinster Schools Junior Cup semi-final replay: St Michael’s College 22 Belvedere College 14

Belvedere College's Paul Dunne is tackled by Eoin Loo, left, and Matthew Haugh of St Michael's College in their Leinster Schools Junior Cup semi-final replay. Photo by: Ben McShane/Sportsfile

Des Berry

Joe Kennedy’s brace of tries propelled St Michael’s into the Leinster Schools Junior Cup final in the first of two replays in a double-header at Energia Park this afternoon.

Belvedere started the first half stronger when lock Shaun Mitchell and centre Paul Dunne crossed the whitewash while Johnny Garrihy converted both.

Out-half Harrison McMahon had kicked St Michael’s in front in the 20th minute and arrowed over the conversion of Kennedy’s first try to leave them four behind at the break.

However, the story of the game revolved around the second-half dismissal of Belvedere’s huge No 8 Harry Goslin.

They had dominated proceedings until that point and enjoyed a 14-10 lead since half-time, when a dynamic tackle was deemed worthy of a red card.

From there, St Michael’s had to turn back wave after wave of attack before scoring the tries that turned the game.

Their forwards played their part from a maul to allow centre Matthew Haugh to dot down, which was converted by McMahon to seal a 17-14 lead in the 52nd minute.

They came again when Sean King, Conor Canniffe and Owen Twomey bolted forward to establish position and allow hooker Kennedy to grab his second in the 58th minute and their place in the final where they will meet Blackrock, following their replay win over Terenure.

Scorers – St Michael’s: J Kennedy 2 tries; M Haugh try; H McMahon pen, 2 cons. Belvedere: S Mitchell, P Dunne try each; J Garrihy 2 cons.

St Michael’s College: S King; J Divilly, M Haugh, S Barron, E Loo; H McMahon, A Norse (O De Vreeze 52); C Canniffe, J Kennedy, M Dredge (D O’Donohoe 35), H Gallagher, T Reynolds (P Lynch 52), S McLaughlin, O Twomey, M Berman (Capt).

Belvedere: J Lynn (J Craig Coghlan 58); D Barr, D Lord, P Dunne (D Keeling 52), R O’Farrell; J Garrihy, C Callaghan (C Dowse 58); C Quinn (E Isong 54), B Ball (L Butler 58), R Grant (M Duke 58), J Travers, S Mitchell (O Folan 42), M McCarthy (B McCormack 58), A Clarke (Capt), H Goslin.

Referee: G Sheridan (Leinster Branch).