Wednesday 21 March 2018

Ireland wait on injured pair for autumn internationals

Jerry Flannery. Photo: Getty Images
Jerry Flannery. Photo: Getty Images
Named: Brian O'Driscoll. Photo: Getty Images

Jerry Flannery and Luke Fitzgerald have been omitted from Ireland's 34-man squad for the autumn internationals but could yet participate.

The duo were injured while on Heineken Cup duty last weekend and will be assessed by their provinces before it is decided whether they can join their international colleagues.

Munster hooker Flannery suffered a recurrence of the calf problem that has limited him to just one appearance this season while Fitzgerald of Leinster damaged his hip.

Keith Earls, Rory Best, Stephen Ferris, Denis Leamy, Sean O'Brien and Donnacha Ryan return after missing the summer tour to New Zealand and Australia through injury.

Devin Toner was also injured for that tour but returns to the squad as one of two uncapped players, the other being Johne Murphy who came into the summer tour party as a late replacement.

Ireland face South Africa, Samoa, New Zealand and Argentina on consecutive weekends at the Aviva Stadium next month.

Ireland Squad

Forwards (19)

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)

Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster)

Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)

Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)

John Hayes (Bruff/Munster)

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)

Marcus Horan (Shannon/Munster)

Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster)

John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)

Donncha O' Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Sean O'Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)

Mick O'Driscoll (Constitution/Munster)

Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)*

Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster)

David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)

Backs (15):

Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)

Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)

Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)

Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster)

Shane Horgan (Boyne/Leinster)

Robert Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

Johne Murphy (Young Munster/Munster)*

Ronan O' Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)

Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Jonathan Sexton (St.Mary's College/Leinster)

Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)

*Denotes uncapped player.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport