Sunday 19 November 2017

Watch: This spectacular end-to-end Ireland score has been nominated for International Try of the Year

2016 was the first year since the end of Declan Kidney's reign as head coach that the national team didn't win the Six Nations championship but the Ireland players could pick up a nice consolation prize as a reward their excellent teamwork.

Joe Schmidt's men cut Italy to pieces in their fourth Six Nations game last March, with Jamie Heaslip profiting from some sensational handling to cross over for a majestic try.

World Rugby have released the nominees for some of their annual awards today, with Heaslip's five-pointer making the three-score shortlist for IRPA Try of the Year.

Kaito Shigeno’s effort for Japan against Scotland in June was also included, as was TJ Perenara's amazing solo score against Argentina in the Rugby Championship.

The favourite has to be Heaslip though, with this memorable try without doubt one of Ireland's best in recent years.


Steve Hansen will look to win a fourth Coach of the Year award, with England's Eddie Jones and former Fiji sevens boss Ben Ryan standing in the way of the All Blacks supremo.

In the Team of the Year category, the trio will fight it out once more but despite stellar seasons from England and Fiji sevens, it is impossible to look past New Zealand.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport