Sunday 19 January 2020

Six uncapped players in Joe Schmidt's squad for November internationals with no room for Ian Madigan Newsdesk Newsdesk

In the week where Joe Schmidt ended speculation over his future, the Kiwi has selected a lot of young faces in his squad for the upcoming November internationals.

The six uncapped players called up include Leinster's Joey Carberry, Luke McGrath, Garry Ringrose and James Tracy as well as Billy Holland and John Ryan from Munster.

The surprise omission is Mike Ross who has been an ever-present in Schmidt's starting line-ups since he took over.

Keith Earls is suspended for the first game against New Zealand in Chicago on November 5 while Carbery is picked ahead of Bordeaux-Begles flyhalf Ian Madigan.

The Ulster duo of Stuart Olding and Tommy Bowe, Connacht's Tiernan O'Halloran and Dave Kearney have also failed to make the cut.

All four are recovering or just coming back from injuries.

Schmidt said: "Selections were difficult as always; trying to balance form, fitness, experience, combinations plus assess those players returning from injury or those carrying minor knocks or strains.

"With more than half the squad likely to be involved in Pro12 action this weekend, plus the need to factor in the travel and fatigue from the Chicago fixture, there are also a number of players on standby who are likely to be involved during the first two weeks of the Guinness Series."

Ireland Squad (v New Zealand, Soldier Field, Chicago, Saturday November 5th)

Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) captain

Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster)*

Sean Cronin (St Mary's College/Leinster)

Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht)

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

Tadgh Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)

Craig Gilroy (Ulster)

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) vice captain

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Robbie Henshaw (Leinster)

Billy Holland (Cork Constitution/Munster)*

Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

Kieran Marmion (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Luke Marshall (Ulster)

Jack McGrath (St Marys/Leinster)

Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)*

Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

Sean O'Brien (UCD/Leinster)

Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Jared Payne (Ulster)

Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)*

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster)*

Jonathan Sexton (St Mary's College/Leinster)

CJ Stander (Munster)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

James Tracy (UCD/Leinster)*

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)

Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)

*denotes uncapped player

Online Editors

The Left Wing: Leinster's weak point, Johann van Graan's future and Doris vs Deegan

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport