Thursday 24 May 2018

Matt Healy called up for one day Ireland camp ahead of Springboks tour

Matt Healy
Matt Healy Newsdesk Newsdesk

Connacht flyer Matt Healy is among four uncapped players who will take part in a 24 hour Ireland training camp this weekend.

There has been a clamour for Healy's inclusion for the tour of South Africa given his stellar form this season and he was very impressive as the westerners bowed out of the Challenge Cup to Grenoble last weekend.

Connacht team mate Quinn Roux has also been chosen, along with the Leinster duo of Garry Ringrose and Luke McGrath.

A total of 44 players will take part in the camp.

Meanwhile, Peter O'Mahony is unlikely to make the trip to face the Springboks with Munster head coach Anthony Foley confirming that a September return to action was now much more likely.

O'Mahony suffered extensive knee ligament damage during last year's World Cup pool victory against France.

Despite this, he is included on the list for this weekend's camp.

Ireland 1 Day National Camp

Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)

Sean Cronin (St Marys/Leinster)

Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht)

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

Tadgh Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)

Craig Gilroy (Ulster)

Matt Healy (Lansdowne/Connacht)

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Rob Herring (Ulster)

Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)

David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Ian Madigan (Blackrock/Leinster)

Kieran Marmion (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Luke Marshall (Ulster)

Stuart McCloskey (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Jack McGrath (St Marys/Leinster)

Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)

Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

Sean O'Brien (UCD/Leinster)

Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Stuart Olding (Ulster)

Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Jared Payne (Ulster)

Eoin Reddan (Old Crescent/Leinster)

Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)

Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)

Quinn Roux (Galwegians/Connacht)

Rhys Ruddock (St Marys/Leinster)

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

Jonathan Sexton (St Marys/Leinster)

CJ Stander (Munster)

Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)

Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport