Saturday 24 August 2019

Joe Schmidt and James Ryan honoured at Rugby Writers awards ceremony

James Ryan with his award
James Ryan with his award
Ruaidhri O'Connor

Ruaidhri O'Connor

JOE SCHMIDT's glittering spell as Leinster and Ireland coach was today recognised at the Guinness Rugby Writers awards ceremony in Dublin.

The head coach, who is currently in New Zealand following a family bereavement, will leave his post after the World Cup after a decade of achievement with Leinster and Ireland.

Captain Rory Best collected the Tom Rooney Award on his behalf last night, with the coach sending a video message of thanks.

James Ryan and Ciara Griffin won the Men's and Women's player-of-the-year awards, while the Ireland U-20s were voted team of the year after their Grand Slam success.

Jordan Conroy and Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe were the inaugural winners of the new Sevens player-of-the-year awards in the men's and women's codes, while AIL winners Cork Constitution won the Dave Guiney Club of the Year.

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

Online Editors

The Left Wing: The 'hell' of World Cup training camp, Ireland's half-back dilemma and All Blacks uncertainty

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport