Thursday 13 December 2018

Head coach Adam Griggs names one new cap in Irish women's team for Six Nations opener

Ireland Sevens star Megan Williams will make her debut of the Irish Women's team against France this Saturday.
Ireland Sevens star Megan Williams will make her debut of the Irish Women's team against France this Saturday.

Ireland women's head coach Adam Griggs has named one uncapped player in his starting team to take on France in the Six Nations opener this Saturday.

Megan Williams, who has previously played for the Ireland Sevens team, will start on the wing, while another new cap, Laura Feely, has been selected on the bench.

Niamh Briggs returns to the team at out-half after missing the last autumn's World Cup through injury, while captain Claire Molloy is named at openside flanker.

Griggs is looking forward to the French challenge in his first Six Nations game in charge of Ireland.

"The opening game of this tournament is always going to be a challenge and France in front of their home crowd is immense," he said.

"However, the squad have had good preparation over the last 2 weeks and are excited and focused on the challenge at hand to start our campaign off with a positive performance."

The game kicks off at 8pm Irish time this Saturday night in Toulouse.

Here is the Ireland team in full:

15 - Kim Flood (Railway Union/ Leinster)

14 - Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) *

13 - Claire McLaughlin (Cooke/ Ulster)

12 - Sene Naoupu (Railway Union/ Leinster)

11 - Alison Miller (Portloaise /Connacht)

10 - Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemian / Munster)

9 - Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/ Leinster)

1 - Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster)

2 - Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/ Leinster)

3 - Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian/ Munster)

4- Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/ Leinster)

5 - Orla Fitzsimons (St Mary's/ Leinster)

6 - Anna Caplice (UL Bohemians/ Munster)

7 - Claire Molloy (Bristol / Connacht)

8 - Ciara Griffin (Tralee/ Munster) Captain



16 -  Leah Lyons (Highfield/ Munster)

17 - Laura Feely (Galweigians/ Connacht) *

18 - Ciara O'Connor (Galwegians/ Connacht)

19 - Nichola Fryday (Tullamore/ Connacht)

20 - Paula Fitzpatrick (St Mary's/ Leinster)

21 - Mary Healy (Galwegians/ Connacht)

22 - Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/ Ulster)

23 - Mairead Coyne (Galwegians / Connacht)

Subscribe to The Left Wing,'s Rugby podcast in association with Laya Healthcare, with Luke Fitzgerald and Will Slattery for the best discussion and analysis each week. From in depth interviews with some of Irish rugby's biggest stars to unmatched insights into the provinces and the national team, The Left Wing has all your rugby needs covered.

Listen and subscribe to The Left Wing on iTunes and Soundcloud

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport