Sunday 21 July 2019

English newspaper includes two Irish players in their Rugby World XV

These four were unlucky to miss out on selection
These four were unlucky to miss out on selection Newdesk

The Daily Telegraph have chosen their Rugby World XV with New Zealand dominating but two Irish players get the nod too.

They admit that the likes of Jonathan Sexton, Jamie Healsip, Rory Best, Devin Toner, CJ Stander, Tadhg Furlong Robbie Henshaw and Simon Zebo are unlucky not to make the selection but scrumhalf Conor Murray and loosehead prop Jack McGrath are deemed to be the best players in their respective position.

Eight All Blacks, two Wallabies, a pair of English stars and a Frenchman make the stellar side.

On Murray's inclusion, they write: "This is a 50/50 call and Murray sneaks it over New Zealand's Aaron Smith based on the form he showed against his rival over the autumn.

"The Irishman is a physical player whose passing is fast and accurate. Plus, he can mix it with the big boys.

"Maxime Machenaud, Ben Youngs, Rhys Webb, Tomas Cubelli and Will Genia are certainly top-class No 9s, but not in the class of Murray and Smith."

1243290 (Read-Only).png
Conor Murray says Munster’s “heart has been magnified” since the death of Anthony Foley. Photo: Sportsfile

On McGrath's presence in the side, they add: "McGrath has been around for a while now but in 2016 he really cemented his reputation as the most feared loosehead in world rugby.

"England's Mako Vunipola is also building up a head of steam and New Zealand's Joe Moody has to come into contention, as does The Beast - Tendai Mtawarira - and Cian Healy."

Since Ireland gathered together on June 29 last year, the Leinster prop hasn’t stopped. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Here is the team in full:

Full-back: Israel Folau (Australia)

Right wing: Ben Smith (New Zealand)

Outside centre: Wesley Fofana (France)

Inside centre: Owen Farrell (England)

Left wing: Julian Savea (New Zealand)

Fly-half: Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)

Scrum-half: Conor Murray (Ireland

Loosehead prop: Jack McGrath (Ireland)

Hooker: Dane Coles (New Zealand)

Tighthead prop: Owen Franks (New Zealand)

Lock: Brodie Retallick (New Zealand)

Lock: Maro Itoje (England)

Blindside flanker: Jerome Kaino (New Zealand)

Openside flanker: David Pocock (Australia)

No 8: Kieran Read (New Zealand)

Online Editors

The Throw-In: Kerry back to their best, Connolly’s return and Cork’s baffling inconsistency

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport