Wednesday 22 November 2017

Defending champions Ireland name seven uncapped players in Women's Six Nations squad

Niamh Briggs will captain Ireland as they begin their Six Nations title defence at home to Wales
Niamh Briggs will captain Ireland as they begin their Six Nations title defence at home to Wales Newsdesk Newsdesk

Ireland Women's coach Tom Tierney has called up seven uncapped players to his squad as the defending Six Nations champions begin their campaign at home to Wales next week.

Niamh Briggs will captain the team that will take on the Welsh on February the 6th at Donnybrok.

Zoe Grattage, Ciara Griffin, Ciara O'Connor, flanker Grainne Egan, wing Liz Burke and centres Elise O'Byrne-White and Claire McLaughlin have earned call ups to the national team.

"We have named a squad full of talent for this year's championship," Tierney said today. "There is a nice blend of youth and experience and the vibe in the camp has been very positive over the last few weeks.

 "We've had the opportunity to see a lot of the girls play and we've looked at a number of combinations. The newer members of the squad are doing really well, so we're looking forward to getting the campaign underway against Wales in Donnybrook and seeing what the girls can do”.

Ireland Women's Six Nations 2016 Squad


Elaine Anthony (Munster / Highfield)

Ciara Cooney (Leinster / Railway Union)

Ailis Egan (Leinster/ Old Belvedere)

Grainne Egan (Connacht / St.Mary's)*

Paula Fitzpatrick (Leinster / Stade Toulousain)

Orla Fitzsimons (Leinster / St.Mary's)

Zoe Grattage (Munster / Tralee)*

Ciara Griffin (Munster / Tralee)*

Claire Molloy (Bristol)

Cliodhna Moloney (Leinster / Railway Union)

Heather O'Brien (Munster / Stade Toulousain)

Fiona O'Brien (Leinster/ Old Belvedere)

Ciara O'Connor (Connacht / Tralee)*

Ruth O'Reilly (Connacht / Galwegians)

Lindsay Peat (Leinster / Railway Union)

Fiona Reidy (Munster / U.L Bohemians)

Marie-Louise Reilly (Leinster / Old Belvedere)

Sophie Spence (Leinster/ Old Belvedere)



Niamh Briggs (Munster / U.L Bohemians)

Liz Burke (Munster / U.L Bohemians)*

Nikki Caughey (Ulster / Railway Union)

Mairead Coyne (Connacht / Galwegians)

Aine Donnelly (Leinster/ Cill Dara)

Mary Healy (Connacht / Galwegians)

Claire McLaughlin (Ulster / Queen's University)*

Larissa Muldoon (Skewen)

Sene Naoupu (Connacht / Galwegians)

Elise O'Byrne-White (Leinster/ Old Belvedere)*

Jackie Shiels (Richmond)

Nora Stapleton (Leinster / Old Belvedere)

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport