Friday 20 September 2019

Bowe and Fitzgerald left out of Ireland squad

Leinster's Luke Fitzgerald. Photo: Sportsfile
Leinster's Luke Fitzgerald. Photo: Sportsfile
Ruaidhri O'Connor

Ruaidhri O'Connor

Tommy Bowe and Luke Fitzgerald are biggest names to miss out on the 44-man Ireland training squad which will congregate at Johnstown House, Co Kildare on Sunday.

Joe Schmidt will use his time with the extended squad to reflect on this year's Six Nations performance as he begins to prepare his squad for the June tour of South Africa.

The New Zealander will bring four uncapped players into the extended panel, all of whom spent time in camp earlier this year.

Connacht's Matt Healy is named after his string of impressive performances, while his team-mate Quinn Roux is also in with an outside chance of touring his homeland this summer after being called up.

Leinster pair Garry Ringrose and Luke McGrath will also join up with the squad who assemble at lunchtime on Monday and disperse 24 hours later.

A day after Anthony Foley effectively ruled him out for the season, Peter O'Mahony was named in the squad alongside Iain Henderson, but there is no place for Bowe and Fitzgerald who are both slated to return to provincial action this weekend.

Chris Henry remains out in the cold, while Connacht's in-form Denis Buckley is not involved. Cian Healy remains in the panel despite his indifferent performances for Leinster, while Dave Kilcoyne is in.

Tadhg Furlong returns to the fold after being dropped midway through the Six Nations, with Nathan White a curious absence as he continues to recover from the concussion he suffered against Leinster.

International Rugby Newsletter

Rugby insights and commentary from our renowned journalists like Neil Francis, Will Slattery, Alan Quinlan & Cian Tracey.

The camp will be new defence coach Andy Farrell's first involvement with the squad.

Ireland training squad - F Bealham (Connacht), R Best (Ulster), S Cronin (Leinster), U Dillane (Connacht), K Earls (Munster), T Furlong (Leinster), C Gilroy (Ulster), M Healy (Connacht), C Healy, J Heaslip (both Leinster), I Henderson (Ulster), R Henshaw (Connacht), R Herring, P Jackson (both Ulster), D Kearney, R Kearney (both Leinster), D Kilcoyne (Munster), I Madigan (Leinster), K Marmion (Connacht), L Marshall, S McCloskey (both Ulster), F McFadden, J McGrath, L McGrath, J Murphy (all Leinster), C Murray (Munster), S O'Brien (Leinster), T O'Donnell (Munster), S Olding (Ulster), P O'Mahony (Munster), J Payne (Ulster), E Reddan, G Ringrose, M Ross (all Leinster), Q Roux (Connacht), R Ruddock (Leinster), D Ryan (Munster), J Sexton (Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), R Strauss, D Toner (both Leinster), A Trimble (Ulster), J van der Flier (Leinster), S Zebo (Munster).

Irish Independent

The Left Wing: Ireland's fullback dilemma, World Cup bonding and the squad standby list

Also in Sport