Thursday 22 March 2018

A try scored against Ireland makes shortlist for 2015 Try of the Year

Wales' Justin Tipuric
Wales' Justin Tipuric Newsdesk Newsdesk

World Rugby has revealed Justin Tipuric's try against Ireland during the World Cup warm-up series is one of the six contenders for the 2015 Try of the Year.

New Zealand winger Julian Savea has two tries on the shortlist with the other try-scorers being French prop Vincent Debaty, Tonga winger Fetu’u Vainikolo and Japan full-back Ayumu Goromaru.

The six tries were selected by the IRPA Try of Year panel of former players in Ireland’s Shane Horgan, All Black Christian Cullen, Serge Betsen of France and South Africa’s Stefan Terblanche.

Vincent Debaty (France)

Debaty’s try against England in the Six Nations back in March began in their own 22, the ball being worked along the line to winger Noa Nakaitaci, who broke down the left and then stepped inside Mike Brown, finding the French prop coming around in support to take the offload and run in.

Fetu'u Vainikolo (Tonga)

The next try in the calendar year was Vainikolo’s and came in the World Rugby Pacific Nations Cup in July and also began in the 22, Kurt Morath’s cross-field kick bouncing into up into the arms of the Tongan winger who shrugged off four players to run in a try against the USA.

Justin Tipuric (Wales)

Tipuric turned Ireland replacement Ian Madigan inside out to score in Wales’ warm-up victory in August, the flanker combining with Tyler Morgan down the left wing to create the scoring opportunity at the Millennium Stadium.

Ayumu Goromaru (Japan)

The remaining three contenders come from Rugby World Cup 2015 with some quick handling among the Japanese backs creating the angle for winger Kotaro Matsushima to slice through and release Goromaru to keep the Brave Blossoms’ hopes alive against South Africa.

Julian Savea (New Zealand)

Savea’s two tries both came against France in the quarter-finals and were contrasting in style, the first running onto a sublime offload from Daniel Carter and the second seeing the All Black charge through three defenders to touch down.

The winner will be announced on November 1st.


2014 – Francois Hougaard (South Africa) – South Africa v New Zealand

2013 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand) – New Zealand v France

2012 – Bryan Habana (South Africa) – South Africa v New Zealand

2011 – Radike Samo (Australia) – Australia v New Zealand

2010 – Chris Ashton (England) – England v Australia

2009 – Jaque Fourie (South Africa) – South Africa v British and Irish Lions

2008 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland) – Australia v Ireland

2007 – Takudzwa Ngwenya (USA) – South Africa v USA

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport