Monday 20 November 2017

McSharry and Naopu return for Connacht’s clash with Munster

Eric Elwood has made two changes to his starting XV for Connacht’s interprovincial clash with Munster at Musgrave Park tomorrow evening (Kick-off 5.45pm, Live on TG4).

Dave McSharry returns to the backline at inside centre to partner Eoin Griffin in Connacht’s midfield.

Former Scottish international Dan Parks, who has kicked 100 league points this season, is named in a half back pairing with Connacht Academy graduate Kieran Marmion.

Robbie Henshaw starts at Full-back in a back three with skipper Gavin Duffy and this season’s leading try scorer Danie Poolman.

Up front, George Naoupu comes into the fray this week, joining Mick Kearney in the second row. Naoupu replaces Andrew Browne who moves to Blindside Flanker, while John Muldoon starts at Number 8.

Ireland international Mike McCarthy is named in the match day squad and is set to earn his 150th cap for Connacht should he be called upon tomorrow evening in Cork.

Connacht have won four of their last five PRO12 games including victories in their last three matches against Ospreys, Blues and Zebre. A win against Munster tomorrow would make it four in a row for the first time since 2002.

Connacht team to face Munster: Brett Wilkinson, Jason Harris-Wright, Nathan White, Mick Kearney, George Naopu, Andrew Browne, Willie Faloon, John Muldoon, Kieran Marmion, Dan Parks, Gavin Duffy, Dave McSharry, Eoin Griffin, Danie Poolman, Robbie Henshaw.

Replacements: Adrian Flavin, Denis Buckley, Ronan Loughney, Mike McCarthy, Eoin McKeon, Paul O’Donohoe, Miah Nikora, Fetu’u Vainikolo

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport