Sunday 20 May 2018

Leinster's Joey Carbery and Jordi Muphy to make first start of season while Tyler Bleyendaal returns for Munster

Leinster's Joey Carbery. Photo: Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile
Leinster's Joey Carbery. Photo: Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile
Tyler Bleyendaal of Munster. Photo: Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

Joey Carbery is one of four players back in the Leinster starting team following a spell on the sidelines.

Jordi Murphy, Adam Byrne and Dave Kearney all return for the historic Pro14 clash in South Africa against the Southern Kings (tomorrow 1pm) with Murphy making his first appearance since picking up an ACL injury against the All Blacks last November.

Tyler Bleyendaal returns to the Munster team to face Ospreys in the Pro14 at Liberty Stadium tomorrow (ko 3.15pm).

Bleyendaal will captain the side at number 10 and is the only change to Rassie Erasmus' side from last weekend's win over the Cheetahs.

Should he appear off the bench, Irish international John Ryan will make his 100th appearance for the province having made his debut against Cardiff Blues in September 2011. The former Muskerry, CBC and UCC prop becomes the tenth member of the current squad to reach the career milestone.

James Cronin is also included among the replacements and could make his first appearance of the season having successfully rehabbed a knee injury.


15. Joey Carbery (23)

14. Adam Byrne (26)

13. Rory O’Loughlin (23)

12. Noel Reid (82)

11. Dave Kearney (111)

10. Ross Byrne (25)

9. Luke McGrath (76)

1. Ed Byrne (9)

2. Seán Cronin (130)

3. Andrew Porter (10)

4. Ross Molony (45)

5. James Ryan (1)

6. Rhys Ruddock (132) CAPTAIN

7. Jordi Murphy (86)

8. Jack Conan (53)


16. James Tracy (44)

17. Cian Healy (174)

18. Michael Bent (89)

19. Mick Kearney (22)

20. Josh van der Flier (48)

21. Nick McCarthy (9)

22. Cathal Marsh (20)

23. Jordan Larmour (2)

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (WRU)


Munster: Andrew Conway, Darren Sweetnam, Chris Farrell, Jaco Taute, Alex Wootton; Tyler Bleyendaal - capt., Duncan Williams; Liam O’Connor, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland; Sean O’Connor, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, James Cronin, John Ryan, Fineen Wycherley, Robin Copeland, James Hart, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport