Monday 23 October 2017

Jordan Coughlan to make first Munster start while McCarthy and Ruddock return to Leinster XV

Rhys Ruddock
Rhys Ruddock Newsdesk Newsdesk

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has named World Cup call-ups Mike McCarthy and Rhys Ruddock in the team to play the Scarlets while Jordan Coughlan is set for his first competitive start for Munster this weekend.

In total, head coach Anthony Foley makes eight changes to the starting XV that defeated Glasgow Warriors for tomorrow night's Round 5 clash away to Scarlets in the Guinness PRO12. 

The only change in the front row comes at hooker with Duncan Casey joining Dave Kilcoyne and BJ Botha, while in the second row Mark Chisholm moves to 5 with Robin Copeland making his first second row start for the province.

Following a try scoring performance last weekend, Jordan Coghlan makes his first PRO12 start for Foley's men at openside with Dave O'Callaghan and number 8 CJ Stander completing the back row.  Stander will once again captain the side for this weekend's game.

A further five changes are seen across the backs.  Cathal Sheridan and Tyler Bleyendaal come in at half-back while Denis Hurley makes his first start of the season in forming a new centre partnership alongside the academy's David Johnston.

The final change comes in the back-three with academy winger Stephen Fitzgerald starting on the right wing with Gerhard van den Heever and Andrew Conway remaining in situ on the left wing and full-back respectively.

Having successfully completed his rehabilitation, Ronan O'Mahony is in line to make his first appearance of the season after being named amongst the replacements.

The province today confirmed that Uruguayan prop Mario Sagario has signed a three-month contract with the province.

Sagario, who trained with the squad this week in Limerick and Cork, most recently started in all of Uruguay's Pool A World Cup games and has made 51 appearances for his country. 

The 29-year-old tighthead formerly played with French Pro D2 sides RC Massy and Dax.

Munster: Andrew Conway; Stephen Fitzgerald, David Johnston, Denis Hurley, Gerhard van den Heever; Tyler Bleyendaal, Cathal Sheridan; Dave Kilcoyne, Duncan Casey, BJ Botha; Robin Copeland, Mark Chisholm; Dave O'Callaghan, Jordan Coghlan, CJ Stander- capt.


Cullen meanwhile has made seven changes to the starting XV that lost away to the Scarlets last weekend as Leinster welcome the reigning PRO12 champions, Glasgow Warriors, to the RDS.

Returning players include Ben Te'o and Jack Conan who have shaken off calf and ankle knocks respectively and World Cup players Mike McCarthy and Rhys Ruddock who were late additions to the Irish squad.

For the fourth game in a row it is as you were in the back three with Isa Nacewa captaining the side from full back and Garry Ringrose on the right wing and Fergus McFadden on the left. Between them they have scored four tries and 43 points in the four Guinness PRO12 rounds this season.

Ben Te'o has shaken off the calf injury that kept him out of last week's trip to Parc y Scarlets and takes his place in the outside centre channel, with Noel Reid inside him at 12.

In the half backs Luke McGrath starts at scrumhalf for the third time in five games, while Cathal Marsh is outside him at 10 having won a Man of the Match award last time out at the RDS against the Dragons.

Irish internationals Michael Bent and Marty Moore are once again selected at loosehead and tighthead prop respectively, while Aaron Dundon comes back in to the side at hooker.

Mike McCarthy, who missed the Scarlets game due to his World Cup call up comes back in to the second row to partner UCD's Ross Molony.

There are two changes in the back row with Rhys Ruddock coming back in at blindside flanker and Jack Conan selected at eight having recovered from the ankle injury suffered in the warm up before the Dragons game. Josh van der Flier completes the back row at openside.

Leinster have also announced that any Irish supporter who comes to the game on Friday and shows a Rugby World Cup ticket stub, will be rewarded for backing our boys in green with a special offer €15 ticket to the game. The gates open from 6.15pm and the ticket office will be open from then.

Leinster v Glasgow: Isa Nacewa; Garry Ringrose, Ben Te'o, Noel Reid, Fergus McFadden; Cathal Marsh , Luke McGrath; Michael Bent, Aaron Dundon, Marty Moore; Ross Molony, Mike McCarthy; Rhys Ruddock. Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan.

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport