Sunday 18 March 2018

Ian Madigan starts in place of Jimmy Gopperth for Leinster as Payne returns for Ulster in derby

Ian Madigan and Dave Kearney discuss the inter-provincial rivalry with Munster
Ian Madigan and Dave Kearney discuss the inter-provincial rivalry with Munster
Jared Payne, Ulster

Ian Madigan starts at flyhalf for Leinster in the clash with Ulster tomorrow as Jared Payne returns for Ulster.

Payne returns from suspension as one of three changes to Ulster’s starting XV for the visit of Leinster to Ravenhill on Friday (kick off 19.30).

Mark Anscombe has named the 28 year old at outside centre for the sold-out clash against the league leaders, which will also act as the official opening of the newly redeveloped Ravenhill Stadium.

There are four changes in total to the team that accounted for Treviso last time out in a bonus point nine try win at the RDS and there is also a welcome return to the bench for Luke Fitzgerald.

The front and second rows are unchanged with Cian Healy, Sean Cronin and Martin Moore lining up with Devin Toner and Mike McCarthy locking down behind. Cronin and Moore will win their 70th and 30th caps respectively.

In the back row there is one change with Shane Jennings coming in for Jordi Murphy. Elsewhere it is as you were, with Rhys Ruddock and Jamie Heaslip captaining the side from the base of the scrum.

Rob Kearney continues at full back with Zane Kirchner on the right wing but there is a change on the left with Dave Kearney replacing Man of the Match from the Treviso game, Darragh Fanning.

Gordon D'Arcy and Brian O'Driscoll are together once again with Noel Reid the one to make way for D'Arcy following his two try performance last time out.

Ian Madigan starts in place of Jimmy Gopperth with Isaac Boss beside him at nine.

With the situation at the top of the RaboDirect PRO12 extremely tight, Leinster and Ulster both know that a win for either side would offer clarity as they enter the final weekend of the regular season.

In the corresponding fixture between the two sides in December at a sold out RDS Leinster won with 13 points to spare on a scoreline of 19-6. Jordi Murphy scored the only try of the game after 37 minutes with Jimmy Gopperth adding the extra points from the boot.



15: Rob Kearney

14: Zane Kirchner

13: Brian O'Driscoll

12: Gordon D'Arcy

11: Dave Kearney

10: Ian Madigan

9: Isaac Boss

1: Cian Healy

2: Sean Cronin

3: Martin Moore

4: Devin Toner 

5: Mike McCarthy

6: Rhys Ruddock

7: Shane Jennings

8: Jamie Heaslip CAPTAIN 



16: Richardt Strauss

17: Jack McGrath

18: Mike Ross

19: Leo Cullen

20: Jordi Murphy

21: Luke McGrath

22: Jimmy Gopperth

23: Luke Fitzgerald      

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport