Friday 17 November 2017

Foley's troops march on

Anthony Foley's Munster 'A' side advanced safely through to the semi-finals last night with a convincing win over the Heriots at Musgrave Park.

Dave Kilcoyne and Mike Sherry went over for tries in the first half as Max Nimmo struck for the visitors. Danny Barnes, Nick Williams and Sean Scanlon ran in further Munster tries to seal the bonus-point win.

Munster -- D Riordan (S Scanlon 54); D Barnes, M Kelleher, S Deasy, C O'Boyle; D Cusack (J Manning 59), D Williams (C Murray 74); D Kilcoyne (P O'Regan 74), M Sherry (S Henry 59), S Archer; D Foley (E Kelly 74), I Nagle; B Holland (N Melbourne 59), P O'Mahony (Capt), N Williams.

Heriots -- C Goudie; J Alston (M Teague 60), P Saunders, R Mill (A Douglas 70), M Nimmo, G Rutherford, G Wilson (Capt), A Dymock, S Burnett (N Meikle 48), W Blacklock (JP Ward 70); P O'Connor, C Osazuwa; P Eccles, C Fusaro (F Gillies 24), J Syme.

Ulster Ravens soared into the semi-finals with a ruthless eight-try demolition of an undisciplined Aberavon side at Ravenhill last night.

After 33 minutes Ian Whitten, Declan Fitzpatrick, Robbie Diack, Cillian Willis and Bryn Cunningham had all touched down. Further tries from Tommy Seymour, Michael Allen, Mark McCrea and Ian Humphreys completed the rout.

Ulster Ravens -- B Cunningham (C Cochrane 40); M McCrea, M Allen (I Humphreys 62), I Whitten, T Seymour; N O'Connor, C Willis (P Marshall 61); B Young, A Kyriacou (Capt), D Fitzpatrick (P Karayannis 54), N McComb, E O'Donoghue (D Tuohy 42), TJ Anderson, S La Valla, R Diack (M Robinson 58).

Aberavon -- M Bennett; R Thomas, L Gadd (Capt), C Tossell, C Lewis (D Davies 48); J Davies, D Pritchard; M Harris (I Poley 40, N White 55), B Thomas, P Breeze, A Bray, G Ronan, D Thomas (G Harvey 48), B Thomas, R Gallagher.

Ref -- L Pearce (RFU).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport