Sport Rugby

Sunday 21 January 2018

Final places nailed down for Ireland test tour New Zealand

THE final places for Ireland’s tour to New Zealand have been confirmed.

Pencilled into the squad today were Chris Henry, Brett Wilkinson and Mike McCarthy.

Several spots were left unfilled as players were given further time to prove their fitness in the game against the Barbarians.

Paul O'Connell was not included in the squad, but a decision is made regarding his fitness on Friday.

There are also two further uncapped players making the trip with Paul Marshall being been named in the squad along with prop Ronan Loughney.

The Ireland team will depart on Thursday morning.


Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)

Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon /Ulster)*

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)

Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)

Ronan Loughney (Galwegians/Connacht)*

Kevin McLaughlin (St.Mary's College/Leinster)

Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Sean O'Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)

Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster)*

Dan Tuohy (Ballymena /Ulster)

Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians/Connacht)*


Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

Paul Marshall (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)*

Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)

Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)*

*Denotes Uncapped Player

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport