Sport Rugby

Monday 19 March 2018

Easy for O'Leary as Reds front up

connacht A 3 Munster A 19

Munster coach Tony McGahan was given more food for thought yesterday as Tomas O'Leary continued his return to action when he donned a Munster jersey for the first time this season at the Sportsground.

The game was a scrum-half's dream as the Munster front-row of Marcus Horan, Damien Varley and BJ Botha destroyed the home pack.

Connacht ended up with three forwards in the bin and Munster will wonder why they did not win by a lot more.

They led 16-3 at the end of the opening half, but a penalty from Scott Deasy was their only score of the second half.

Connacht 'A' -- S Leyden; J Cleary (F Gormley 64), M McCrea, D McSharry, C Boland; T Leader (M Nikora 58), D Moore (M Dolan 64); D Buckley (F Bealham 40), D Murphy (K O'Byrne 50), S Maguire (J Stephens 53); M Kearney, D Gannon; D Heffernan (D Qualter 50), E Grace, E McKeon (A Conneely 53).

Munster 'A' -- S Scanlon (S Deasy 52); L O'Dea, W Chambers, T Gleeson (JJ Hanrahan 57), S Zebo; S Deasy (D Cusack 40), T O'Leary (D Williams 64); M Horan (D Kilcoyne 60), D Varley (D Fogarty 60), BJ Botha ( J Ryan 60); D Foley, I Nagle (P Donnellan 67); David O'Callaghan, T O'Donnell (B O'Hara 67), J Coughlan.

Ref -- M Patton (IRFU).

Ruddock rounds off dominant showing



Leinster eased to victory on a beautiful night at Donnybrook.

Ulster out-half Paddy Jackson stroked a fifth-minute penalty, the first of three for him in the first half, but Andrew Conway and wing Darren Hudson bagged a try each to make it 12-12 at the break.

After the break, a nice reverse ball from John Cooney to Hudson exposed a porous Ulster defence.

Then Jack McGrath made the incision for Jamie Hagan to finish from five metres out. Rhys Ruddock followed with the fifth, before Andrew Boyle crossed.

Ravens centre Chris Farrell bombed over at the posts for the visitors' first try, but Ruddock replied with his second touchdown late on.

Leinster 'A' -- A Conway (D Riordan 54); D Hudson, B Macken, C O'Shea, A Boyle; N Reid (C Marsh 73), J Cooney (C Willis 60); J McGrath (J O'Connell 72), A Dundon (J Harris-Wright 65), J Hagan (M Moore 65), S Sykes, M Flanagan (N Keogh 54), C Ruddock, D Ryan (capt, J Murphy 60), L Auva'a.

Ulster Ravens -- R Andrew (P Nelson h-t); C Gaston, M Allen, C Farrell, C Cochrane; P Jackson (J McKinney h-t), I Porter (B McIlroy 53); C Black (K McCall 60), J Burns (N Annett h-t), A Macklin (R Jablonski 70), I Henderson (J Simpson 38), N McComb (capt), C Joyce, D McGuigan (N Faloon 7), A Birch.

Ref -- E O'Dowd ( IRFU).

Munster Cup joy for Garryowen

Garryowen 19

Bruff 9

Ronan o'mahony's try was key as Garryowen saw off the challenge of holders Bruff to win the Munster Senior Cup, their first triumph in four seasons. Garryowen have won the Cup on more occasions than any other club.

Garryowen -- L Bourke; I Hanley, C Hircock, A Gaughan, R O'Mahony; C Doyle, F Lawler; JP Cooney, J Rael, D Lavery; M Melbourne, F McKenna; P Neville, K O'Gorman, L Viapula.

Bruff -- A Cashman; M Cosgrave, B Cahill, J Carroll, T O'Callaghan; T Cahill, E Maher; D Horan, C O'Regan, S Foster; A Burke, M O'Connell; P Malone, J Shine, M Carroll.

Ref -- F Butler (MAR, replaced by O Hodgkins 74).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport