Tuesday 20 February 2018

Records tumble at Schools Cup draws

Connacht stars Andrew Browne and Eoin McKeon with Top Oil’s Lisa Lillis and the various captains at the draw for the Connacht Schools Senior Cup
Connacht stars Andrew Browne and Eoin McKeon with Top Oil’s Lisa Lillis and the various captains at the draw for the Connacht Schools Senior Cup
Independent.ie Newsdesk

Independent.ie Newsdesk

The draw for the 2015-16 Top Oil Connacht Schools Cup was made last Friday in the Connacht Hotel, Galway.

The event was extremely well attended, with representatives of Top Oil, the Connacht Branch and several schools present.

The draw contained a record 38 schools across five competitions.

Michael Fallon, Cliona Ni Mhurchu and Lisa Lillis were in attendance representing sponsors, Top Oil, who continue their association with the premier Connacht Schools competitions for a second year.

Connacht stars Eoin McKeon and Andrew Browne were also on hand to assist with the draw and chat to the next wave of talent in province.

Chairman of the Connacht Schools Committee, Chris Davies, conducted the draw and also invited all those in attendance to join him in and the rest of the Connacht rugby community in enjoying the Connacht v Newcastle European Challenge Cup match in the Sportsground directly after the draw.

The first round of the Senior Cup, Senior Development Cup, the Junior Cup, Junior Development Cup and the Junior Emerging Cup will all take place on January 13.

The draw for the pool stages can be found below and a full list of fixtures for each competition is available on the Connacht Club and Community website.


Senior Cup

Pool 1: Garbally College, Marist College, St Muredach's, Clifden CS, St Joseph's (Bish).

Pool 2: Sligo Grammar School, Coláiste Iognáid, St Geralds College, Summerhill College, Roscommon CBS

Senior Development Cup

Pool 1: Athlone CC, St Tiernans, Gortnor Abbey, Belmullet, Athenry VS.

Pool 2: HRC Mountbellew, Roscommon CC, Foxford, S C Chiarain.

Pool 3: Davitt College, PC Headford, Colaiste Einde, Rice College.

Junior Cup

Pool 1: Marist College, Summerhill College, Coláiste Iognáid, St Joseph's (Bish), St Geralds College.

Pool 2: Garbally College, Sligo Grammar School, Roscommon CBS, St Muredach's, Rice College.

Junior Development Cup

Pool 1: Athenry VS, Gort CS, Col Mhuire Ballymote, Calasanctius, Gortnor Abbey.

Pool 2: HRC Mountbellew, Col Mhuire Ballygar, St Brigids, Clifden CS, St Paul's.

Pool 3: Davitt College, Athlone CC, S C Chiarain, St Aloysius College.

Pool 4: Gallen CS, Colaiste Einde, St Raphaels, Pres. Headford.

Junior Emerging Cup

Pool 1: St Tiernan's, Colaiste Iascaigh, Lacken Cross, The Convent Belmullet, St Attracta's CS, Roscommon CC, Jesus & Mary, Enniscrone.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport