Sport Connacht Rugby

Saturday 21 April 2018

Pat Lam makes one change for Connacht's showdown with Glasgow

Pat Lam speaks to his players during training ahead of their game against Glasgow. Photo: Diarmuid Greene/Sportsfile
Pat Lam speaks to his players during training ahead of their game against Glasgow. Photo: Diarmuid Greene/Sportsfile

Pat Lam has made one change to his Connacht team to face Glasgow Warriors in tomorrow's Pro12 play-off semi-final at the Showgrounds (6.30pm – live on TG4 and Sky Sports).

Galway man Eoin McKeon comes in for the injured Sean O'Brien while the back line remains unchanged with try scorer from the last game Bundee Aki and Ireland international Robbie Henshaw retained in midfield.

April Player of the Month Niyi Adeolokun and the league’s top try scorer Matt Healy line out on the wings.

“We are under no illusions when it comes to the challenge we face against the defending champions Glasgow who are stacked with players with plenty of experience of test match and knock out rugby," said Lam.

"We know they will be much stronger than they were two weeks ago but if we channel our physicality and the excitement into our game, we will be able to meet that challenge head on.

“It’s an exciting time for everyone involved in Connacht Rugby as we head into our first ever PRO12 semi-final. The reason we’ve had such a good record at home this season is the special atmosphere generated by our supporters and we’re all looking to give them another special day to remember in our last home game of the season.”


Connacht team to face Glasgow Warriors, Saturday 21st May, the Sportsground, 6:30pm

15           Tiernan O’Halloran

14           Niyi Adeolokun

13           Robbie Henshaw

12           Bundee Aki

11           Matt Healy

10           AJ MacGinty

9              Kieran Marmion


1              Ronan Loughney

2              Tom McCartney

3              Finlay Bealham

4              Ultan Dillane

5              Aly Muldowney

6              Eoin McKeon

7              Jake Heenan

8              John Muldoon (captain)




16           Dave Heffernan

17           JP Cooney

18           Rodney Ah You

19           Andrew Browne

20           Sean O’Brien

21           John Cooney

22           Shane O’Leary

23           Peter Robb


Injured/Unavailable: Denis Buckley, Nathan White, Conan O’Donnell, Ben Marshall, Nepia Fox-Matamua, Eoghan Masterson, Dave McSharry, Api Pewhairangi, Danie Poolman, Darragh Leader, Ciaran Gaffney.

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport