Tuesday 22 May 2018

Muldoon adds the gloss to Ballinasloe triumph

Ballinasloe 26 Corinthians 5 Connacht U-15 Cup Final

Ballinasloe celebrate their U-15 Cup success
Ballinasloe celebrate their U-15 Cup success

Ballinasloe added the U-15 Cup to the U-14 trophy they won last year as they saw off Galway Corinthians in the first part of a double header in front a fantastic crowd in the Sportsground on Sunday.

Ballinasloe started the brighter, winning a succession of early penalties in the Corinthians half.  They almost made their dominance count on three minutes but knocked on as they crossed the line.

Ballinasloe won the resulting scrum but were held up just short of the Corinthians line.  After six minutes, though, full-back Sean Horkan did crossed for the first try of the match. The extras were added from the right touchline by out-half Cian Treacy. 

Corinthians gradually began to work their way into the game and some impressive carries by second-row Hubert Costello saw them spend some time inside the Ballinasloe half. But Corinthians couldn't convert this territory into points.  On 23 minutes, Ballinasloe ventured back into the Corinthians 22 and won a penalty on the five-metre line.

Recognising that they were the slightly bigger and more physical side, they opted for a scrum and this proved to be a wise choice as they spread the ball wide to wing Padraig Flanagan who got in.  The impressive Treacy could not add the conversion, leaving the score 12-0.  Flowing On the stroke of half-time Ballinasloe got a third try, following a flowing move down the left. Oisin McCormac eventually touched down under the posts to leave Treacy the simple task of adding the extras.

Ballinasloe led 19-0 at the break, having clinically taken their opportunities.  Corinthians knew they needed the next score. And five minutes into the second half, they got the try their pressure deserved as Colm McDonagh crossed. The conversion was missed from the right touchline.  The confidence of the Corinthians players was now rising and they continued to enjoy large amounts of possession within the Ballinasloe half. 

Despite this persistent pressure Corinthians couldn't find the score they needed to put the pressure on their opponents, and on 48 minutes Ballinasloe broke away to score a fourth try. Ignatius Muldoon touched down and the conversion was slotted over by the reliable Treacy once more. 

With the score now standing at 26-5, both teams began to empty their benches.  Corinthians battled valiantly to claw their way back into the contest but the Ballinasloe defence remained disciplined, allowing them to see out victory with no further scoring. 

Ballinasloe - 1 Seamus Egan, 2 Odhran Dooley, 3 Gavin O'Dowd, 4 Cian Silke, 5 Jack Noone, 6 Patrick Grehan, 7 Fergus Finneran, 8 Oisin McCormack, 9 Cormac Finn, 10 Cian Treacy, 11 Jason Cunningham, 12 James Carry, 13 Shane Jennings, 14 Padraig Flanagan, 15 Sean Horkan. 16 Luke Dunne, 17 Robert Shiel, 18 Padraic Galvin, 19 Jamie Curley, 20 Ignatius Muldoon, 21 Fintan Donnelan, 22 Mark Poland.

Corinthians - 1 Cian Scanlon, 2 Eoin de Buitlear, 3 Colm McDonagh, 4 Hubert Costello, 5 Peader McTavish, 6 Aaron Connair, 7 Diarmuid McCormack, 8 Connall O'Griofa, 9 Aaron Browne, 10 Cathal Forde, 11 David McCarthy, 12 Ciaran Dillon, 13 Darragh Hanrahan, 14 Peter Coyne, 15 Diarmuid Kilcommins. 16 Colin O'Shea, 17 Aiden O'Loughlin, 18 Adan Heffernan, 19 Joseph Ward, 20 Sean Anthony Costello, 21 Ian Richard Kennedy, 22 James Philips, 23 Michael Officer.

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport