Monday 19 March 2018

GMIT take bragging rights after epic Colours clash

Action from the coulours game between GMIT and NUIG
Action from the coulours game between GMIT and NUIG Newsdesk Newsdesk

The historic inter-colleges 'Colours' fixture between the Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology and the National University of Ireland, Galway took place on Monday.

Students on both sides, hailing from over 15 different rugby clubs across the country, donned their college's colours and lined out in Crowley Park, Glenina.

Played in glorious weather conditions the day lent itself to a fast and free flowing game and both teams took full advantage of the dry day to play some very attractive rugby.

NUIG kicked the first points of the match and added a first-half try but it was GMIT who settled into the game more comfortably, reaching the interval 20-10 ahead.

The second half was another high-scoring affair as GMIT took the title, outscoring NUIG 37-20.

Speaking about the fixture special projects officer for Connacht Rugby, Emer O'Dowd said: "It's fantastic to see these two third level institutes competing against each other at this level.

"The event has been a huge success, bringing Galway's two major colleges together in a highly competitive yet incredibly friendly fixture and the sizeable crowd were treated to a thoroughly entertaining game of rugby."

"We're looking forward to this match becoming a regular annual event and building on the solid foundations laid this year as we look to increase the profile of college rugby across the province."


NUIG - 1. Liam McMahon (NUIG), 2. Oscar Soden (NUIG), 3. James Brogan NUIG, 4. HP Horea (NUIG), 5. Daniel Regan (Monivea), 6. Arran Elwood (Galwegians), 7. Evan McGloin (Galwegians), 8. Cian Dillion (Galwegians), 9. James Costello (Galwegians), 10. Ryan Guilfoyle (NUIG), 11. Arnaud Requier (NUIG), 12. David O Neil (NUIG), 13. John Kennedy (NUIG), 14. Thomas Duffy (NUIG), 15. Daniel Layden (NUIG), 16. Michael Collum (NUIG). Head coach: Ja Naughton

GMIT - 1. Brendan Pepper (Ardee), 2. Tadhg O'Brien (Wexford Wanderers), 3. Abraham Afolabi (Galwegians), 4. Sean Delaney (GMIT), 5. Ciaran Flanagan (GMIT), 6. Tadhg Campbell (Galwegians), 7. Angelo Johnson (Waterpark), 8. Ciaran Cassidy (Sligo), 9. Jack Hurley (Dungarvan), 10. Ross Maxwell (Galwegians), 11. Conor Gavigan (GMIT), 12. Sean Hayes (Galwegians), 13. Matt Quinn (Malahide), 14. Cormac Furey (Galwegians), 15. Dylan Duffy (Galwegians), 16. Baz Van Amsterdam (GMIT), 17. Justin Andrews (Suttonians), 18. Dan Keane (Corinthians), 19. Cian Hornibrook (Galwegians), 20. Joe Lyons (Ballyhaunis), 21. Fergus Killarney (Monivea), 22. Aaron Joyce (Galwegians), 23. Jonathon Roe (Roscrea), 24. Coco Guistou Bock (GMIT), 25. Neil Gunning (Loughrea), 26. Charlie Hague (Portumna), 27. Aidan Bryan (Portarlington), 28. Colin Ledwith (Buccaneers). Head coach: Doran McHugh

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport